DAY 258--EMBRACE GOD, HEART AND SOUL
2008-10-13

I'm back. We were in Glen Rose over the weekend, celebrating our 23rd wedding anniversary (yesterday was the day, October 12). We had the most marvelous time. It was as close to perfect as possible. Couldn't have asked for it to be better.

We stayed at Paluxy Riverbed Cabins. We have gone there for six straight years, now. They have four cabins on the banks of the Paluxy River. Very rustic setting, no tv, no phone, no internet, but a refrigerator, A/C, and kitchen. Peace and quite, but comfortable as well. Hot tub on the huge front deck, as well. If you are withing driving distance of Glen Rose, Texas and looking for a romantic weekend place, check it out.

Ok. On to the devotion for today.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 112

Praise the LORD!
Blessed is the man who fears the LORD, who greatly delights in his commandments!



Day 258 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Romans 10:8-13

The phrase in Peterson's translation that speaks to me most is this one: ...embracing, body and soul, God's work of doing in us what he did in raising Jesus from the dead. This is the verse that is rendered believe in your heart the God raised him from the dead in the more traditional translations.

I actually like Peterson's translation here, even though it seems to be significantly different. When we "believe," we are "embracing, body and soul." I can't think of a better way to define "believe." And God does do in us what he did when he raised Jesus from the dead. That's what we must embrace. That is the goal of the rest of my life. To "embrace, body and soul, God's work of doing in [me] what he did in raising Jesus from the dead."

How will I achieve this goal? Not sure, to be honest. But it has to be something I meditate on every day. I need to condition myself to get up every day and let that be one of the first things I think about. This will take help from the Holy Spirit. I need reminders.



Father, thank you for the work that you are doing in us, in me. Thank you that this work is the same as the work you did in raising Jesus from the dead. Romans is not the only place this is mentioned in Scripture, that comparison of the work in us to the work of raising Jesus from the dead. Let the Holy Spirit remind me daily that I need to "embrace, body and soul" this work. Help me to allow you to work in me. To shove everything that doesn't matter aside.


May we all live constantly trusting and embracing God in Christ.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com