DAY 255--TRUSTING WHEN IT'S HOPELESS
2008-10-06

I'm continuing with my efforts to get this devotion thing done in the mornings before I go to sleep for the day. This will be my second day (not counting weekends).

Before I start, I ask for prayer requests for Stephanie. We took her to Care Now yesterday, complaining of trouble breathing and her "heart hurting." Now, before you panic, the doctor at CN said, after taking X-rays, etc., that it is likely costochondritis.

Right.

"Costochondritis is a condition that causes chest pain due to inflammation of the cartilage and bones in the chest wall."

That's what Christi had already figured it was from looking on the "Interwebs."

But the thing that causes concern is that, after looking at her chest X-ray, they said that her heart appeared to be enlarged. So, we will be taking her to her "regular" doctor today, along with that X-ray, to get his opinion. The thing that scares us a little is from way back earlier in the year when she had that bout of what we finally concluded was rheumatic fever. Supposedly one of the effects of rheumatic fever is an inflammation of the heart. So we've got to get this seen to pretty quick.

Your prayers will be appreciated.



Psalm for Today: Psalm 109

With my mouth I will give great thanks to the LORD;
I will praise him in the midst of the throng.
For he stands at the right hand of the needy, to save him from those who condemn his soul to death.
Verses 30-31



Tabletalk Magazine on hypocrisy:

In most cases we ignore the contrast between our words and deeds, keeping ourselves blissfully unaware of how we live inconsistently with our professed beliefs. When this happens we overlook our sins, falling into habitual transgression without even knowing it. Sometimes we are so blind to our misdeeds that we need confrontation in order to see our sin. Then they add a quote from John Calvin: ...the children of God ought to desire to be pure rather than to appear so. In other words, we ought to be more concerned about how we really are than how we appear to be.



Day 255 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Romans 4:16-21

This is a tremendous passage, speaking of what God did for Abraham, and how Abraham trusted God.

First of all, what did God do for Abraham? Where to start...he made him a "father of many peoples." He gave him an heir when he and Sarah were pretty much "dried up." He named Abraham "father," then Abraham became a father because Abraham trusted him.

What did Abraham do?

* He dared to trust God to do what only God could do, which is to, with a word, make something out of nothing.

* He believed when everything was hopeless, deciding to live (this is very important) "not on the basis of what he saw he couldn't do but on what God said he would do." I'm going to say that again. Abraham decided to live on the basis of what God said he would do, rather than on the basis of what Abraham knew Abraham couldn't do. Don't focus on what you can't do. We spend way too much time on that. Focus on what God said he would do. Because God will do what he said he will do.

Here are some things that Abraham didn't do:

* He didn't focus on what appeared to be impossible (not quite the same thing as I said above). He didn't say, "It's hopeless. I'm a hundred years old. There's no way I could father a child. And Sarah's been infertile for decades."

* He didn't "tiptoe around God's promise asking cautiously skeptical questions."

Which of these things is most difficult for you?

For me, I think it is not focusing on seemingly hopeless situations. It's hard for me to not focus on my daughter having an incurable (at least at this point in time) neurological condition. But God knows what goes on in that child's brain. He understands. And he is in control. The situation only appears hopeless. I need to make myself believe anyway. God will do what he said he will do. But know this for sure. God has not promised to heal my daughter. And I'm ok with that. I will continue to pray. And God will do what is just, and he will "work all things together for good for those who believe and are called according to his purpose." And that is me.



Father, help me to embrace you and what you do. Help me to believe in spite of what appears to be hopeless. Help me to "plunge into the promise and come up strong, ready for you." You will do what you promise. I am sure of that.

Praise you, Father! Praise you!



Which of these things is hardest for you? Identify it and pray about it. Give it up to him. Let him work it over for you. And then "plunge into his promise." Dive in, head first.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com