PHARISAIC HYPOCRISY
2008-09-29

Psalm for Today: Psalm 104

May the glory of the LORD endure forever; may the LORD rejoice in his works,
who looks on the earth and it trembles, who touches the mountains and they smoke!
I will sing to the LORD as long as I live; I will sing praise to my God while I have being.
May my meditation be pleasing to him, for I rejoice in the LORD.
Verses 31-34



Tabletalk Magazine

Matthew 23:1-4 - - Pharisaic Hypocrisy

The scribes and Pharisees sit on Moses' seat, so practice and observe whatever they tell you--but not what they do. For they preach, but do not practice. Verses 2-3

Jesus knows that the people are hanging on his every word at this point, so he begins to tell them to steer clear of the hypocrisy of the religious leaders.

It's important to note that Jesus may not have had a bad relationship with all of the Pharisees. Their basic teachings were correct. It was the many man-made rules that they added to the Scriptures that Jesus objected to, as well as the pride that sometimes accompanied their position.

At any rate, he clearly condemns them for not practicing what they preach.

That's it for today. Christi's home, and I have to go eat dinner.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com