DAY 244--GOD'S REDEMPTIVE PLAN
2008-09-21

Psalm for Today: Psalm 96

Splendor and majesty are before him;
strength and beauty are in his sanctuary.



Day 244 in The Message//Remix:Solo

Acts 1:1-11

Dear Theophilus, in the first volume of this book, I wrote on everything that Jesus began to do and teach until the day he said good-bye to the apostles, the ones he had chosen through the Holy Spirit, and was taken up to heaven. After his death, he presented himself alive to them in many different settings over a period of forty days. In face-to-face meetings, he talked to them about things concerning the kingdom of God. As they met and ate meals together, he told them that they were on no account to leave Jerusalem, but "must wait for what the Father promised: the promise you heard from me. John baptized in water; you will be baptized in the Holy Spirit. And soon."
When they were together for the last time they asked, "Master, are you going to restore the kingdom to Israel now? Is this the time?"
He told them, "You don't get to know the time. And when the Holy Spirit comes on you, you will be able to be my witnesses in Jerusalem, all over Judea and Samaria, even to the ends of the world."
These were his last words. As they watched, he was taken up and disappeared in a cloud. They stood there, staring into the empty sky. Suddenly two men appeared--in white robes! They said, "You Galileans!--why do you just stand here looking up at an empty sky? This very Jesus who was taken up from among you to heaven will come as certainly--and mysteriously--as he left."

In light of the last question the angels asked the disciples, the book asks when I am tempted to simply be an observer or spectator to the movements of God's redemptive plan, rather than a participant. I would say frequently. It's really easy to sit back and watch work done by other people. As to why these temptations happen, there could be several reasons. One is that we tend to get comfortable in our situation, or we might use the word "lazy." Another is out of fear or shyness. I, personally, am terrified of speaking to total strangers about pretty much anything, much less something as personal as Jesus. Now, you put a guitar in my hand and a microphone in front of my face and that's a different story altogether. One-on-one encounters are not something I am good at.

However, there are more ways to be participants in God's redemptive plan. One of the most important ones is prayer. The people who are out there, beating the streets, need to be covered in prayer. Another way is financial support. We contribute to several ministries that we like. Not a huge amount, but lots of little amounts add up to huge amounts.

So there is really no excuse to not be a participant, is there?

There are also other ways to be a witness to those in your immediate circle of influence. How we handle situations is always a witness. And I'll be the first to admit that I fail miserable in that respect, often. But as God is working in my life (especially recently) I'm hoping that some people will see a change in that, especially at my job.

Also, being a listener is always a good witness. Sometimes, people have issues that they are dealing with, and they just need someone to be kind to them. Most importantly, we need to be on the alert for every opportunity to share the gospel with them. I'm not one who can bring up Jesus out of the clear blue in a conversation, but if someone asks my opinion or outright asks me about my faith, I'm ready to give an answer, and this is what scripture commands of us. Always be ready to give an answer for your faith.

The angels also told the disciples that Jesus would return, just as he left. What effect does that reality have on our lives?

Sometimes, it looks as though it has no effect whatsoever. I mean, seriously, do I live as though I believe Jesus will return at any minute? Not usually. I'm working on what that looks like, too. These are all things that God has been dealing with me, recently.



Father, give me more courage to be a part of your redemption process. There are people who need to hear your Gospel in this world. I can't talk to all of them, but there are ways that I can participate. One of the most important is prayer. I need to pray more during the day, and I ask you to prompt me more throughout my waking hours. Even as I fall asleep, let me be breathing prayers to you. And most importantly, let me always be ready to give an answer.


The thing for us to remember each day is that God expects his followers to act on the things that Jesus said and did. As God has reminded me recently, the Holy Spirit is our "Friend," and Jesus is truly in us. We abide in him and he abides in us. The best analogy I've heard on that is to think about putting a cup in a pail of water. When you do that, the cup is in the water, but the water is also in the cup. Sounds simplistic, but it becomes rather profound when you think about it. We are the cup and Jesus is the water.

Abide.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com