A TALE OF TWO SONS
2008-09-08

I got a new devotional book today, that I'll use for next year. I'll wait until January to start it...I have plenty to finish out this year. It's called Heart Aflame: Daily Readings from Calvin on the Psalms. Selected writings from John Calvin. I'm excited!


Psalm for today: Psalm 85

Let me hear what God the LORD will speak, for he will speak peace to his people, to his saints;
but let them not turn back to folly.
Surely his salvation is near to those who fear him, that glory may dwell in our land.
Verses 8-9



Tabletalk Magazine

A Tale of Two Sons--Matthew 21:28-32

In this passage, Jesus relates a parable of a man with two sons. The man told both of his sons to go work in the field. The first said, "I will go," then went off somewhere else. The second said, "I won't go," then later relented and went and worked in the field. Jesus wants to know which of the sons was obedient.

Of course, the answer is the one who did, in fact, wind up doing what his father wanted him to do.

The point Jesus is making is that many people who, on the surface, appear dirty and undesirable will get into the kingdom of heaven before people like the Pharisees. It is easy to profess the truth, but our Father in heaven also demands that we do the truth as well (see James 2:14-26).

We must be the ones who wind up doing our Father's will, regardless of our initial response. Better that than pretending to be obedient, but never serving. In other words, not like the Pharisees, who knew all of the laws, but really had no clue about the one who authored them.



I have to go to "mini-school" now, to meet Stephanie's teachers. Hopefully, I'll get back to the Message devotions tomorrow.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com