GOD ENCOUNTERS
2008-09-03

It feels like Tuesday, but it's really Wednesday. Monday holiday weeks mess with my brain.


Psalm for today: Psalm 82

Give justice to the weak and the fatherless;
maintain the right of the afflicted and the destitute.
Rescue the weak and the needy;
deliver them from the hand of the wicked.
Verses 3-4

If ever there was a "Christian Manifesto," this is it. All through Scripture, God tells us that this is where his heart is.

Side note: Who do you think these "gods" are that Asaph refers to in verse one and verses 6-7?

God has taken his place in the divine council;
in the midst of the gods he holds judgment:

I said, "You are gods, sons of the Most High, all of you;
nevertheless, like men you shall die, and fall like any prince."

Exactly who are these "gods??"



Day 231

It's review day again, so I'll look back at the last six entries to see if I learned anything.

DAY 225--NO RUN-OF-THE-MILL-SINNER--Luke 6:27-36

When someone gives us a hard time, we are supposed to respond with "the energies of prayer." I've never thought of my prayers as being "energetic" before, but perhaps it's a good idea, eh?

DAY 226--DO YOU SEE THIS WOMAN?--Luke 7:37-47

This story is about the whore who anointed the feet of Jesus with a perfume worth perhaps a year's wages. She was obviously grateful for the forgiveness of her sins. Am I that grateful? God's grace is truly amazing. I should show my gratitude with reckless abandon.

DAY 227--SITTING BEFORE THE MASTER--Luke 10:38-42

It is important, sometimes, to just sit at the feet of Jesus and let the cares of the world take care of themselves for a while.

DAY 228--LIVING IN GOD-REALITY--Luke 12:25-34

Steep yourself in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. I liked that phrase. And that is what I need to do most with my life right now. "Steep" myself in God. All aspects of God.

DAY 229--LOST AND FOUND--Luke 15:1-10

God's lost children are as important to his as a one lost coin out of ten, or one lost sheep out of ninety-nine. He has orchestrated history to find them all. I think that should make us feel rather special, don't you?

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com