DAY 228--LIVING IN GOD-REALITY
2008-08-30

It's early Saturday afternoon. I usually get this in in the morning, but I slept until after 10 this morning. Then I got on the Wii-Fit for the first time. Fun. I'm looking forward to many more workouts on this little toy.


Psalm for today: Psalm 79

But we your people, the sheep of your pasture, will give thanks to you forever;
from generation to generation we will recount your praise.
Verse 13



Day 228

Luke 12:25-34

Jesus gives us some words about worrying, or, as Peterson translates, "fussing." The author suggests imagining sitting in a Starbucks with Jesus, and he is saying these words to me. Um...

I don't do Starbucks.

So, we're sitting in the van at a Sonic. Like those two guys on the tv commercials, right?

Anyway...

As I reflect on these words, several phrases stand out.

Steep yourself in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions.

The place where your treasure is, is the place you will most want to be, and end up being.

...relax...

...[don't] be so preoccupied with getting so you can respond to God's giving.

Good words. What is Jesus trying to say? "Don't worry, be happy?" Maybe something like that. Not quite so sentimental, though. He is, most definitely, saying "Don't worry." Worry is sinful. It is lack of faith. It is, at the most basic level, unbelief. If I'm worried about provision, it means I don't believe God will provide. Easy for me to say, right? My wife and I both have pretty good jobs and make plenty. But that doesn't mean we don't have potential worries. They just aren't as much about provision. Some of you know we have a daughter who is a high-functioning autistic. This means we are constantly concerned about how she's going to get by in school. She started high school this week. God will get us through this, though, and he will provide the resources we need to do so. It is, however, up to us to make responsible use of those resources and not be lazy.

"God helps those who help themselves?"

No. I don't believe that statement at all. It's not Biblical. A more Biblical statement would be "God helps those who can't help themselves." Eh?

Jesus says, "Relax." Don't fret. Don't "fuss." Don't worry. See how God clothes the flowers, even the weeds. Look how he cares for the birds. Are we not more important to him than these?

So...in order to accomplish what Jesus is trying to get across here, what do I do? What do I have to really trust him for?

I have to trust that he will do his best for me. He will always do what is best for me (keeping in mind that what is best for me has to line up with his "Big Plan"). And HE decides what is best. Not me.

I have to trust that by being generous and giving to people, I will get all I need! Isn't that just backwards to all you hear from the world? I've not had much difficulty being generous. I found out yesterday that we have been partnering with Compassion International for 14 years! I had no idea it had been that long. We are now on our third child (not three at once...), a little 6-yr-old girl from Thailand, named Suthida Sinpoemtaweephong (I swear I'm not making that up...extra points if you can say it!) We truly enjoy having a small bit of interaction with these children. We get letters from them and can write back to them. I highly recommend this organization if you are looking for a way to share what God has given you. It costs about a dollar day ($32.00/month) to feed, clothe and educate a child.

Sorry about that plug, but I stand behind Compassion 100%. They are an organization that has the highest of integrity. In fact, a couple years ago, when that massive tsunami hit Indonesia, the government of Indonesia actually asked Compassion to oversee the distribution of funds. Compassion respectfully declined, because of strings that were attached. Anyway...integrity.

I need to trust that "God-reality, God-initiative, and God-provision" are really enough. I think that I can say that, most of the time, I trust in this. But there are certainly times that my trust wanes.

So. After my conversation with Jesus at Sonic, how do I feel? Well, first, I feel refreshed after my Route 44 Diet Cherry Vanilla Dr. Pepper. But, you know, I feel pretty good. Not because I've "arrived," or because I totally "get it." I can't say those things.

But for the most part, I don't worry about the things that he warns about. There are areas of life that I do tend to fret about sometimes, and I need to learn to trust him more for those. I need to learn that God is enough in all areas of life. We have the provision thing down, I think. For now. But how would I feel if it all came crashing down? I don't know. It's not a test I want to endure, either.



Father, I've rambled a bit this morning. But what I am learning is that I need to trust you more. I do pretty good when everything is going good. But I remember being really depressed earlier this year when Stephanie was ill with we didn't know what. I don't think I was trusting very well then. I think I'm ready to trust you with more. I believe all these things that Jesus is saying. I've seen the flowers. I've watched the birds. I know that we mean more to you than them. I don't overly concern myself with appearance. In fact, appearance means virtually nothing to me. I mean, I've been wearing the same four pairs of blue jeans for a long time now. I only replace clothes when they wear out or don't fit any more.

But I'm aware of other areas of my life that I'm a little more obsessive about. These are where I need your help to let go.



God is my treasure. Where my treasure is, there will my heart be also.

Where is your treasure?

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com