DAY 220--HEARTSTRINGS
2008-08-22

School starts back up on Monday. My schedule will get more regular then, because I'll have to be up to pick up Steph every day.


Psalm for today: Psalm 72

For he delivers the needy when he calls, the poor and him who has no helper.
He has pity on the weak and the needy, and saves the lives of the needy.
From oppression and violence he redeems their life, and precious is their blood in his sight.
Verses 12-14



Day 220

Mark 10:17-22

This is Mark's telling of the time when the man with great wealth came to Jesus to find out how to get eternal life. After claiming that he had kept all the commands that Jesus listed (He left some out...), he was then blindsided by Jesus telling him to go sell all his possessions and give it all to the poor. The man turned away sadly, because he could not part from his worldly wealth.

How am I similar to this rich man? How am I different? Well, to start with, I can't say that I have kept all of Jesus's commands. Nope. No way. I've probably broken most of them. Never murdered, at least. Unless you count that part where he said if you are angry with your brother without reason, you've committed murder...ouch.

Anyway. So I'm different from this guy in that respect. I'm also different in that I think if I had to, I could easily part with most, if not all, of my worldly possessions. Even this computer?? Sure. It's a great convenience, and I love it. But I could live without it, if I had to. Certainly, if my eternal life status depended on it. Of course, those of us who are believers know and understand that our eternal life status depends upon one thing and one thing only. Our trust and belief in Jesus Christ. Period.

There are many times that I long for a simpler lifestyle. Someday maybe that will happen. I think if I came home one day and found that someone had broken into my home and stolen all my stuff, I wouldn't be that upset. I would certainly feel invaded. That part would upset me, but the stuff? It's just that. Stuff. There isn't much that's not replaceable. And the "stuff" that means the most to me probably would never be stolen by thieves.

So I'm different from this guy in at least two basic ways.

Later in the passage that is excerpted here, Jesus proclaims that there is no chance at all of getting into God's kingdom if you think you can do it by yourself. None whatsoever. There is every chance if you let God handle it.

This is grace. Grace is one of the most important words in all of theology. In fact, if it weren't for grace, we wouldn't have any theology. Ponder that truth for a minute, if you will.

What is grace? Yeah, sure, it is "God's Riches At Christ's Expense." Isn't that cute? But it's more than some cute acronym. Wait. That's an acrostic. Whatever.

Grace is the very basic element of our salvation. It is God doing something that there is no way on earth we could do.

We

Cannot

Save

Ourselves

Period. God has done it. There is nothing that we can do to deserve this salvation. God has done it.

That is grace. And grace is beautiful.



Father, I thank you for your grace. I glory in your grace. I revel in it. For I am a sinful man. There are times when my sin clouds my eyes so badly that I almost can't see you. But you are always there. Always. Your grace brings me back around to where you are. And it uncovers my blindness so I can see you. I praise you for your grace, dear Father!!


The final words in this reading are simply this: Live in freedom and follow Jesus.

Doesn't that sound simple? Maybe it is more simple than we realize.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com