DAY 219--TAKE YOUR TURN
2008-08-17

Sunday morning, getting ready for worship. I'm praying for a stree-free morning. Then after church, it's off to the Magic Time Machine for a birthday celebration for Stephanie and Justin (Rachel's fiance).


Psalm for today: Psalm 71

O God, from my youth you have taught me,
and I still proclaim your wondrous deeds.
So even to old age and gray hairs, O God, do not forsake me,
until I proclaim your might to another generation, your power to all those to come.
Your righteousness, O God, reaches the high heavens.
You who have done great things, O God, who is like you?
You who have made me see many troubles and calamities will revive me again;
from the depths of the earth you will bring me up again.
You will increase my greatness and comfort me again.
I will also praise you with the harp for your faithfulness, O my God;
I will sing praises to you with the lyre, O Holy One of Israel.
My lips will shout for joy, whin I sing praises to you;
my soul also, which you have redeemed.
Verses 17-23

That is a wonderful passage from Psalms.



Day 219

Mark 7:24-30

I've always found this passage to be interesting. These few verses recount the story of the Greek woman who comes to Jesus with a daughter who was possessed by an "unclean spirit." (That's English Standard Version translation; Peterson simply says she was "disturbed.")

Jesus first tries to turn her away, saying that "the children get fed first." "It is not right to take the children's bread and throw it to the dogs," he said.

The woman, rather than giving up, is persistent. "Of course, Master. But don't dogs under the table get scraps dropped by the children?"

Jesus appears to relent at this point. He simply tells her that, because of her statement, she can go home to find her daughter well. Mark tells us that this is exactly what happened.

At first glance, my reaction is that this just doesn't sound like the Jesus I know. We know from the surrounding verses that Jesus was really tired, physically, and was, in actuality, trying to hide. But, of course, people still found him.

However, upon closer examination, Jesus didn't exactly tell this Syro-Phoenician woman "no." He didn't tell her to go away. He simply made a statement.

Keeping in mind, once again, that our Savior must have had somewhat of a sense of humor (being partly human), I can almost see, in my mind, a smirk on his face as he says his words to this woman.

I have to believe that he was not surprised at her response, either. I don't believe that he actually changed his mind about her, either. He knew what her response was going to be. At this point, I don't care for Peterson's translation, either. He says, "Jesus was impressed." To me, impressed implies surprised. Perhaps not, but usually, if I'm "impressed" with something, it was better than I expected it to be. Jesus knew/knows what is in the hearts of men. There are no surprises.

So what is the message for us today? I think there can be several. We should always be persistent. Don't give up. That would be from the perspective of the Greek woman. But from the other perspective, I think we have a message that God's blessings are for all people. We should not get too "cliquish" in our ministries. (I don't know if that's a word or not, or if I spelled it right.) Don't get so wrapped up in ministering to one kind of people, to the point that, if a different type comes up, you don't have room for his need. We should be willing to meet needs whever we are able. I can't meet all needs. No one can, outside of Jesus. But I should be ready and willing to meet whatever needs I am able to meet. Regardless of what kind of person it is.

As I'm typing this, it makes me think aobut the immigration problem in our country. I have long be conflicted on this. I understand the national position, and agree with it 100%. If someone wants to live in this country, they need to do it legally. Follow the rules. Become a U.S. citizen. Be an American, and with no hyphens.

However, what is the Christian position? Do we deny someone ministry because they are not a U.S. citizen?? As Paul was famous for saying..."God forbid!" There is no room for nationalism in the ranks of believers.

This woman was a Gentile. At this point in the life of Jesus, there was no indication yet that he had come for anyone but Jews. Yet he helped her. There is a huge message for us in that seemingly small event.



Father, always help me to see this message of universal ministry. Not in the sense of "universalism" that says all people will be saved, but that there is no boundary when it comes to ministry. At least no racial or positional boundary. The only boundaries in my ministry are the abilities with which you have provided me. Make me fully aware of those abilities, and make me responsible to sharpen them with practice. Let them not be wasted. Also, let me be willing to be used by you in areas where you may not have gifted me. I guess what I'm praying is that you simply strengthen me to be a willing vessel for whatever purpose you need.


Let us be watchful for opportunities to share his love, his healing, his mercy. With whoever might cross our paths.

Grace and peace, friends.



2 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com