DAY 218--TELLING YOUR WHOLE STORY
2008-08-16

Psalm for today: Psalm 70

Make haste, O God, to deliver me!
O LORD, make haste to help me!
Let them be put to shame and confusion who seek my life!
Let them be turned back and brought to dishonor who desire my hurt!
Let them turn back because of their shame who say, "Aha, Aha!"

May all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you!
May those who love your salvation say evermore, "God is great!"
But I am poor and needy;
hasten to me, O God!
You are my help and my deliverer;
O LORD, do not delay!
Verses 1-5

Can you imagine David, King of Israel, saying, " I am poor and needy??" That boggles the mind. At least it would boggle the "natural" mind. But the spiritual mind understands, just as David did. Money and power aren't everything. Even with all of that, David still recognized that he was "poor and needy," in relation to God.



Day 218

Mark 5:25-34

Here, again, is the passage of the woman who sneaks up behind Jesus to touch his robe and is healed from a bleeding problem that she had for 12 years.

But this time, the focus is a little different. As I try to place myself in the woman's shoes in this story, there are several questions asked.

1. From where did you get the courage to come behind Jesus and touch his clothes?

I'm not sure it was courage as much as desperation. If I am this woman, I've heard about this man, and possibly even seen him heal people. I am desperate to get healed of this condition. I've suffered for 12 years. I'll try anything to get rid of it. If I were courageous, wouldn't I walk up to his face, rather than try to sneak in unnoticed?

2. When Jesus looks at you, how do you feel?

First, I feel frightened and anxious, because I'm afraid that he is going to be angry. After all, he whirled around and said, "Who touched me?" But when I saw the compassion in his eyes, I unloaded. I blurted out the whole story. It was like his eyes, his gaze, just drew it out of me.

3. How does it feel for you to tell Jesus your story--and for him to listen so well?

It feels amazingly liberating. To be completely honest with one who obviously already knew it all, anyway, brings total freedom and release. I felt peace afterwards like I've never felt before.

4. How does it feel to be complimented publicly by this holy man? Well, that! That was kind of embarrassing, because, even though I had the faith to try to just touch his robe, I didn't feel very brave. After all, I was caught! But afterwards, I felt a little bit stronger. In fact, I was able to walk away, holding my head up, because of this man. He pronounced a blessing on me, when all I had felt for 12 years was a curse! I was free!



Jesus, I am feeling more free today. I feel closer to you at the end of this week than I have for a while. And I can't identify why, other than it must be simply because I have had the faith to come to you every day. Is that all it takes? To faithfully come before you every day? That's all this woman did. She simply had the faith to step up to you and touch you. It immediately got a little more complicated than that, but in her mind, that was all that was happening. I have come before you each day this week, expecting nothing really. And suddenly, last night, I felt closer. There were things going on in my spirit that I haven't felt in a long time. I pray that it's for real. I pray that it lasts, just like this woman's healing.


It always amazes me, God's timing. I just got something out of this story that I never expected to get from it. Out of the blue. Sometimes, God surprises us. Hah. How many of you know this old, old hymn...Sometimes a light surprise the Christian while he sings. It is the Lord, who rises with healing in his wings. It was written by William Cowper (pronounced Cooper), while he was battling depression. I've even heard one story that said he was in an institution when he wrote it. I can't find verification of that at the moment, though. Point is, though, it's true. Sometimes God surprises us.

Be surprised today.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com