DAY 213--JESUS THREW THEM OUT
2008-08-10

Good morning, all!

I'm enjoying searching for music to add to my "Worship" playlist with Rhapsody while I have my devotion, this morning. My subscription to Yahoo! Music Unlimited was recently converted to Rhapsody. Not sure why, but I like the player a lot better than Yahoo's, so I'm content. I can still transfer downloads to my mp3 player.



Psalm for today: Psalm 65

When iniquities prevail against me, you atone for our transgressions.
Blessed is the one you choose and bring near, to dwell in your courts!
We shall be satisfied with the goodness of your house, the holiness of your temple!
Verses 3-4



Day 213

Matthew 21:12-17

In this passage, Jesus "cleanses the temple" by throwing out the moneychangers. Peterson's translation leaves a little to be desired, as it seems to indicate that the reason they were thrown out was simply that they were "buying and selling." This idea has led to much misunderstanding and controversy over the years. Having grown up Southern Baptist, I've seen time after time when a special guest artist was invited to perform at a church, but not allowed to set up their merchandise table in the foyer because of misinterpretations of this passage.

The point here is that the "buyers and sellers" were seriously ripping people off. It's in the quote of Jesus when he says, "You have made it a hangout for thieves." The "merchants" were changing money to the only allowed currency for the temple, but they were charging extra for it. Or they were charging too much for allowable sacrifices for people who weren't able to bring one from home.

Either way, they were basically stealing from people, and this is what Jesus objected to.

If I try to imagine myself in this scene, back in this day, just judging from the attitudes I possess today, I would probably be in the position of a worshiper, feeling taken advantage of by these so-called merchants. I think I would take great pleasure in what Jesus did, although my face would probably express a great amount of shock, as I'm sure many other faces did.

But then, after this, many blind and crippled people come on the scene and Jesus heals them. Then to really goad the Pharisees, a bunch of children start shouting, "Hosanna to the Son of David!" Whoa!! That, I'm sure would have given me something to think about, were I present at this event. I think that I would be very amused at the indignation of the Pharisees, since I have always been somewhat cynical towards high religious leaders. I might even applaud Jesus.



Jesus, I have pretended to be in your presence when you were performing these events. It's very easy to believe that I would approved of your actions, based on the way I feel about things today. But who knows? Nevertheless, it is good to see you portray emotion as you do this. To see your "human" side gives us comfort as we realize that it is okay to be angry in some circumstances. It is perfectly acceptable to be angry at injustice. But rather than seethe in that anger, you quickly turned to minister to those who needed healing. This shows that you have a clear vision of purpose, which many of us lack. We get caught up in one emotion and stay that way for too long, missing out on our real purpose.

Help us/me to stay focused on our purpose. Help me to know what my purpose is and to not let anything distract me from that purpose. Let the "stuff of earth" flow over and past me, having no effect on me.



In The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Aslan, the lion, is described. He "isn't safe. But he's good." Jesus isn't "safe." Yes, we have a measure of safety if we abide in him, in that no one can do any permanent harm to us. But our lives are sure to be turned upside down frequently if we follow Jesus. He isn't "safe." But he is most certainly "good!"

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com