DAY 207--JESUS THE HEALER
2008-07-30

Wednesday morning, back in my peaceful spot, looking out the kitchen windows at the Atlantic Ocean. All that water. Wow. Several small island off in the distance, I think they might be the Isles of Shoal. We are planning to take a cruise out there this evening, which will end with fireworks at Hampton Beach.


Psalm for today: Psalm 59

But I will sing of your strength;
I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning.
For you have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress.
O my Strength, I will sing praises to you, for you, O God, are my fortress, the God who shows me steadfast love.
Verses 16-17



Day 207

Matthew 9:18-26

Jesus heals two people in this passage. Well, heals one and raises another from the dead.

He is on the way to see Jairus' daughter (although he is not named in this account, we see his name in Mark 5), who has just died. But he is interrupted on the way, as a woman who has had a bleeding problem for 12 years sneaks up behind him and touches his robe. She has the faith to believe that if she could simply touch his robe, she would be healed. Jesus, feeling the healing power go out of him, turns and catches her. He lets her know that she has been healed by faith, and can go on her way.

Jesus continues to the scene of Jairus' daughter, where he proclaims that she isn't dead, just sleeping. He heals her with a simple touch of his hand.

Which story is more engaging? It's hard to say. Of course it's amazing that Jesus raised a girl from death, but it's equally amazing that a woman was healed of a problem that had plagued her for most of her adult life, simply by touching his garment hem. And perhaps even more amazing that he felt that happen. In other accounts of the bleeding woman, he even turns and asks, "Who touched me?" His disciples were amazed that he could even be asking that, since they were in a pretty large throng of people.

The woman's healing is much more private. No one can see her problem. And there is likely no visible evidence that she is healed. Simply what she feels and the words of Jesus as he responds to her.

I can picture myself in this crowd. But it's hard to see, to get close enough to Jesus because there are so many people. I can barely see this woman who has managed to force her way to within touching distance, yet remained behind him. She bends over and touches him, but he stops and whirls around, frightening her. She cowers in fear, but he gently comforts her as he declares that she has been healed. And she goes her way. I am amazed at the gentleness of this man who obviously has such great power. Powerful people are seldom so gentle.



Jesus, you are the gentle shepherd. I see in you such great power, yet your gentleness is astounding. You comfort us in our weakness. You assure us that our faith is sufficient for our own healing, whether it be physical or spiritual. I am also in amazement that you can focus on an individual when there are so many demanding your attention. I will never understand how you can hear my prayers when there are millions of others going up at the same time. And somehow, you can see and understand these words that I am typing. No doubt, you know, them before my fingers even hit the keys.

I stand in awe of you and your healing power. There truly is strength and power in your name.



As I set my computer aside, I will sit in silence for a few minutes, reveling in his glory, especially as displayed by the sea in front of me.

Grace and peace, friends!



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com