DAY 205--PRAY WITH SIMPLICITY
2008-07-28

I'm back on the internet finally. The hotel we were staying at didn't have wireless in the rooms, and charged $12.95 for high speed in the rooms. I didn't feel like paying that, so I just waited until we got to our house in Rye, NH for the rest of the week. Needless to say, it was a very frenzied weekend, and you will be able to read about it on my other diary. Maybe tomorrow, I will get some pictures posted, as well, probably on flickr. I'll let everyone know when they are up.


Psalm for today: Psalm 57

My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast!
I will sing and make melody!
Awake, my glory!
Awake, O harp and lyre!
I will awake the dawn!
I will give thanks to you, O Lord, among the peoples;
I will sing praises to you among the nations.
For your steadfast love is great to the heavens,
your faithfulness to the clouds.
Verses 7-10



Day 205

Matthew 6:5-13

This passage is what has come to be known as "The Model Prayer." Many stopped calling it "The Lord's Prayer," because he wasn't really praying, he was simply giving us an outline for prayer. Some have begun calling John 17 "The Lord's Prayer."

I like the way Peterson translates this. In verse 5, it says, "And when you come before God, don't turn that into a theatrical production, either."

He goes on to say, "Find a quiet, secluded place so you won't be tempted to role-play before God." Wow. Don't we do that? Be honest. Don't we get before God and role-play? "Just be there as simply and honestly as you can imagine."

And then the punch-line! "The world is full of so-called prayer warriors who are prayer-ignorant. They're full of formulas and programs and advice, peddling techniques for getting what you want from God. Don't fall for that nonsense." Anyone remember "The Prayer of Jabez??" I really could not believe that some of the people that I respected, spiritually, were falling for that drivel. I'm sorry if calling that little book drivel offends anyone, but that's what it is and I stand behind that. There are no prayer "formulas" for getting what you want from God. It is not and never has been about getting what you want. It is about doing what God wants and about fulfilling his plan for the universe. That's ALL it's about.

Now, here are the elements of simple prayer, as defined by Jesus.

1. Find a quiet secluded place.
2. Don't "role-play" before God.
3. Be with God as simply and honestly as you can.
4. Watch the focus shift from you to God.

Here are the elements of complex, showy prayer.

1. Turning prayer into a dramatic production.
2. Making a regular show of prayer.
3. Using formulas and programs, and honoring men's advice over God's.
4. Using techniques to get what you want from God.

Which do you prefer? Which should we prefer? Which do you think God prefers?

What words would Jesus be saying directly to me if I were sitting at his feet during this talk? Personally, I don't think I need to hear the warnings about keeping prayer simple. I have long rejected the complex, showy model. I have difficulty praying in front of other people because I have the desire for my prayer to be meaningful and to God, not for other people. Too often, public prayers are either announcement time or a review of the sermon.

My problem, and the one that Jesus would address to me, I believe is the frequency and consistency of prayer. I need more quantity. I just don't pray enough.



Jesus, I ask you to inspire me to pray more often. I ask for the discipline to be more consistent with my prayer life. Honestly, it lacks a lot right now. I desire to change that.


I'm in a perfect place, right now. It is quiet and secluded. I'm sitting in a house in Rye, New Hampshire, looking out at the Atlantic Ocean through the kitchen window. As soon as I finish typing this, I will be sitting on the deck, watching the tide roll in. "Sittin' on the dock of the bay..." Etc. This is the ideal setting for an improved prayer life. Hopefully by the end of the week, I can report a little more calmness of spirit and intimacy with God.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com