DAY 203--GOD ENCOUNTERS
2008-07-22

We're getting ready for vaction. Flying out Friday morning. I'm nervous/anxious/anticipating/excited and all other kinds of emotions all mixed together. Makes it hard to concentrate on anything, especially spiritual. I'm looking forward to having my devotions on the New Hampshire coast, though. I always feel closer to God when I'm around an ocean, for some reason.


Psalm for today: Psalm 55

Cast your burden on the LORD, and he will sustain you;
he will never permit the righteous to be moved.
Verse 22



Day 203

It's review day. Going back over the last six devotions.

Day 197--Interested In People--Zechariah 7:4-10

Sometimes, we get distracted by things that aren't as important as the people around me. God continued to teach me about the importance of the people that I encounter on Sunday morning, as compared to getting the sound system set up, etc.

We have many people who are need of love and compassion, and some might even be in need of some justice. These people are important to God. We have people in our church who don't have anyone else. These people are very important to God.

Day 198--Breaking the Beautiful Covenant--Zechariah 11:4-11

There are serious consequences for continued disobedience. In this case, God anulled a covenant. He didn't really break it because his people had already broken it. He simply voided what had already been broken. This is a strong warning to us, the church. We need to remain faithful to our God.

Day 199--A Reminder of God's Message of Love--Malachi 1:1-5

God loves us.

God loves us.

Let me say it again.

God loves us.

There is reminder after reminder in Scripture, including this one in Micah, where God proclaims his love, only to get a sarcastic answer back from his people: "Oh, yeah? How have you loved us??" If you were God wouldn't just slap the heck out of them?

But God gently reminds them of their past, and how he has loved them. I said in this entry that I was going to start writing a list. I haven't done that yet. I think I will take a notebook with me on this vacation and begin the writing. Not on a computer, either. I'm writing this list by hand.

Day 200--Give Life and Peace--Malachi 2:5-10

We are to be vessels of life and peace. God needs to be able to dispense life and peace through us. How do our lives and messages distort or uphold this truth? Do we make it too difficult for people to see throught the messes that are our lives? I fear that I do sometimes. In fact, I'm getting more convicted that I need to go fix something right after I do this.

Day 201--Fit For God--Malachi 3:1-5

Sometimes we need a good "scrubbing" from God. I feel like that frequently. We get covered with "ook" and need his cleansing so that we can continue to be useful in his kingdom. I want to be fit and pleasing to God. So I gladly submit to any scrubbing, no matter how painful it might be.

Day 202--The Testaments, Old and New--Matthew 2:1-6

Matthew uses Old Testament writings in his book to show how God has orchestrated the events that are taking place. God is in control of all things, even in this chaotic mess that is our world today. He continues to work The Plan, and it will be completed. Jesus will return someday and we will get to spend the rest of eternity with him.

I'm not sure how you have "the rest of eternity." Hmm.

Anyway, point is God keeps his promises. A message we've heard a lot, but still true. We need to be reminded of that from time to time, especially when it seems like his plan is kind of in limbo.



That's it for this one.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com