Speaking Our Minds and Hearts
2008-06-28

One of my d-land buddies said something this morning that really made me stop and think. glorycloud said this: It is a blessing to live in a neighborhood where there are no suicide bombers. He's right. It is.

Perhaps while we are complaining about fuel prices, etc., we should all stop and realize that we are much safer than a lot of the countries in this world. At least for now... I don't have to worry about getting blown to kingdom come at the grocery store.



Ok. I'm finally back this morning with a real devotion. I was all ready to do one yesterday afternoon, but had a nice little argument with Stephanie over whether we were going to the baseball game or not. It took so much time, that by the time we were done, it was actually time to leave. So...

I'm going to make a better effort next week. I'm going to try and do my Bible readings in the morning after I get home from work. This will take some major discipline, so I seriously ask for your prayers in this.



Psalm for today: Psalm 39

O LORD, make me know my end and what is the measure of my days;
let me know how fleeting I am!
Behold, you have made my days a few handbreadths,
and my lifetime is as nothing before you.
Surely all mankind stands as a mere breath!
Verses 4-5

I do not think that David is asking to know how or when he will die. I believe he is simply asking for a reminder of how fragile his life is. We would all do well to remember this. We are but "a mere breath." Blow out a breath. That's what each of us is, in comparison to the very large picture that is eternity. 70-80 years, maybe a few more...compared to eternity. Only a breath.

What that does is encourage me to look at the bigger picture. Sadly, for some, it has the opposite effect. But I've got eternity to prepare for, and only a "breath" to get ready!



Day 186

Habakkuk 1:12-17

Habakkuk is really speaking his mind here in this passage. He is angry at God for using the Babylonians to do his judgment work. They are so evil and filthy, after all...

When I read this passage, I understand the prophet's anger. However, I am reading centuries later, with the advantage of having many writings that give us a better perspective of God and his purposes. So, while I may understand his anger, I cannot agree with it. The very point of the discipline was to punish Israel for their unfaithfulness. Sooo...who exactly is God supposed to use?? Is there another "blessed" nation somewhere? Of course it's going to be someone like Babylon!

But, with that being said, I think the point of the passage is to underscore what has been said before; that it is ok to be honest with God. More than ok, it is even encouraged. I don't think God was angry with Habakkuk for this venting. But God not only sees the bigger picture, he painted it! So he understands what is happening here.

Can we speak to God with this kind of honesty? I have, frequently. Usually, I get patient silence as a resonse, while I sort it out for myself. I, of course, always want God to jump up and take action. But God is not really one for quick reactions, is he?

As I consider my life, there isn't much that I can't be honest with God about. In fact, I am much more open with God than I am even here. God knows everything about me, so what's the point of not being open and honest with him? Never made sense to me. I can't hide anything from him, can I?



Father, help me to always be open and honest with you about all things. As I ponder my life situations, I see much that could be improved. But I also see that this improvement is largely up to me. So I ask for strength to make the changed necessary to improve my relationships. Mostly to improve my relationship with you. I believe that if I take care of that relationship first, all the others will fall in line. So help me be more faithful in these feeble attemtps at "devotion." Help me be more faithful in listening to you. Most of all, through listening, let me be more active in the creation of new songs that you would give me. I sincerely believe that you have a lot of them for me, but I'm not listening very well right now.

I love you, God. Help me show it more.



God invites your honest communication at all times. After all, what he really desires is your heart.

Grace and peace, friends!



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com