Our God
2008-06-20

Last day of VBS today. Whew. I don't fell like I've had a vacation at all. Heh.


Psalm for today: Psalm 37:1-20

There are so many great verses in this Psalm...hard to pick just one or two.

Trust in the LORD, and do good;
dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.
Delight yourself in the LORD,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Commit your way to the LORD;
trust in him, and he will act.
He will bring forth your righteousness as the light and your justice as the noonday.
Verses 3-6



Day 183

Micah 7:15-20

Father, before I read today's passage, I pray that you speak to me today through it. There are things that weight heavily on my heart today, mostly involving family and the sudden tension between some of us. I know that you are almighty and in control of all things, and have no doubt that you will work things out for our good.


In today's passage, Micah is voicing a prayer to God, first asking for miracles similar to the ones that delivered them from Egypt. Then he asks that God put the godless nations in their place. He prays for nations that will not believe in God to be brought face-to-face with God.
In verses 18-20, though, Micah changes to a list of God's qualities that are beyond compare. He dares someone to come up with a "god" that is comparable to our God. Here are the attributes that he lists:

>>God wipes the slate clean of guilt
>>God turns a blind eye and deaf ear to the past sins of a people who have been purged and are now precious to him
>>God doesn't nurse his anger and does not stay angry long
>>Mercy is his specialty. It is what he loves most.
>>He is full of compassion
>>He will stamp out our wrongdoing
>>He will sink our sins to the bottom of the ocean
>>He stays true to his word, everything he has promised

That's quite a list. My favorite is that he stays true to his word. Our God will do what he says he will do. Always.

I still have to meditate on the issues that are concerning me today, and how I think God feels about them. I'll admit that I'm a little torn up inside right now because of things that are going on in our family. But somehow, God will help us resolve them.

He is true to his word. Remember this, no matter what else you might remember or forget about God. He is true. And he loves mercy. Andy made a great statement in his current post about how people seem to care so much about hunger halfway around the world, but ignore people in their own city. How do we do that? Is that mercy?? In a half-assed sort of way, I guess. But we could do better.

God loves mercy, and he wants us to all be generous people, with whatever he has blessed us with. I need to be more active in that arena.

I sense the danger of rambling this morning, and we need to leave for VBS. So I'll shut up now.

Grace and peace, friends! I'm feeling a deep love for you readers today. Thanks for your friendship.



2 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com