Idol-making
2008-06-17

Tuesday morning. I'm looking at myself, reflection of my mind...

Oh, silly me...that's Tuesday Afternoon! Sorry.



Psalm for today: Psalm 34

"Oh, magnify the LORD with me,
and let us exalt his name together!" Verse 3

"The angel of the LORD encamps around those who fear him, and delivers them." Verse 7

"Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!" Verse 8

Oh, taste and see...



Day 180

Micah 1:3-7

God is on his way, because of Jacob's sin. In this passage, there is a picture of God walking towards Israel, to deal with the sin that they have allowed to creep in. The sin in question is that, if I'm reading this right, Israel has allowed the idol worship, the "sex-and-religion" shrines of Samaria to become a part of their culture.

God's response is to turn "Samaria into a heap of rubble."

Did Israel actually build idols, in this passage? I don't think so. I think they went to Samaria to take part in the idolatry in that country. "Theologically speaking, an idol is anything that eclipses our worship of God." So it doesn't even have to be a physical entity.

What gets between me and my relationship to God? Oh, there are probably tons of things. To what do we give our allegiance, instead of God? Or, worse yet, what do we make him share us with? Why do I say that's worse? I believe it's probably worse to put God in a box with a bunch of other things that we "worship" than to totally go after something else. Maybe not. Either way, he doesn't like it.

I don't believe that there is anything in this world that will give me more significance than my relationship with God. Other things that I struggle with are more likely just for entertainment, and goodness knows we are an entertainment-driven society. We have to stay excited about something.



Father, help me to be honest with myself and you about any potential or real idols in my life. I don't desire to place anything ahead of, or even along side of, you. Whatever things are occupying places reserved for you, help me get rid of them.


Only God is worshy of our worship. God, and God alone.

"Oh, taste and see..."

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com