Resistant or Obedient?
2008-06-15

Happy Father's Day to all. Sadly, I'm kind of on the outs with my Father right now. For more information, see this entry in my other diary.


Psalm for today: Psalm 32

"Blessed is the one whose transgression is forgiven,
whose sin is covered.
Blessed is the man against whom the LORD counts no iniquity,
and in whose spirit there is no deceit." Verses 1-2



Here's a good quote from Tabletalk Magazine for the weekend: "Unbelief is fatal to all knowledge of the kingdom of God and all personal experience of its power, as Christ's old neighbors in Nazareth discovered ([Matthew] 13:53-58): 'He did not do many mighty works there because of their unbelief' (v. 58)."


Day 178

Jonah 1:1-3

Jonah is, in a way, a humourous book. In today's passage, the word of God comes to Jonah, and he immediately takes off in the opposite direction. He actually tried to run away from God. How many of us have tried to run away from God? It is impossible to run away from someone who is everywhere. And Jonah, of course, found this out the hard way.

I can't recall a time when I physically ran the opposite direction that God told me to go. But I can remember times when I didn't follow his lead spiritually. And those times have had a drastic effect on my life. One that I remember from my seminary days had more effect on me than just about anything.

But he always brings us back, just as he does Jonah. I don't know anyone who isn't at least somewhat familiar with the story of Jonah and the big fish (not a whale, mind you...it specifically says "big fish"). Sometimes gently, sometimes, as in Jonah's case, not so gently. I must say, I've never been vomited out onto the shore by a fish. That must have been pretty disgusting. And the fish, if I remember correctly, put him right where God wanted him to be. Heh. So you see...impossible to run from God, and if he really, really wants you somewhere, you will wind up there.

Just as another illustration of this truth, remember Philippians 2:10. "...that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on the earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord to the glory of God the Father." Every knee will bow. That means if you are reading this and are not a Christian, and never become one, even your knee will eventually bow, and your tongue will eventually confess that Jesus is Lord. Even though you don't believe it in your heart, you will have no control at that point. That's the way I read it anyway. As a final insult, every unbeliever will be forced to bow before Christ and confess his lordship before they are carted off to hell.

God will get us where he wants us. One way or another. Better to go willingly and not have to sit in the belly of a fish for a few days, eh?



Father, help me to always go the direction you want me to go. Let me not run from you, either physically or spiritually. Let me not have to be forced to go the way I should go.


"Go and live courageously and obediently in God's purposes for your life."

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com