God, the Radical Politician
2008-06-14

Finally back. Ugh. What a week. Seems like there was just too much going on in the afternoons after I got up, which is usually when I do this thing. I'm on vacation next week, so I will have lots of time (after VBS is over in the mornings). I also got this monster new computer, which you can read about in my other diary. However, I'm having to do this on my laptop in the family room this morning, because the software that installs my wireless adapter is so old that it doesn't support Vista. *doh* So I have to wait until an ATT technician comes by tonight to give me the new disk. Disc? Whatever...


Psalm for today: Psalm 31.

"For you are my rock and my fortress;
and for your name's sake you lead me and guide me;
you take me out of the net they have hidden for me,
for you are my refuge.
Into your hand I commit my spirit;
you have redeemed me, O LORD, faithful God." Verses 3-5



Day 177

Obadiah 12-14

Obadiah is a one-chapter prophet. Hence, only verse numbers in the reference.

In the context of the passage, God is speaking to Edom, who had enjoyed watching Judah experiencing troubles.

"You shouldn't have talked so big when everything was so bad.
You shouldn't have taken advantage of my people when their lives had fallen apart.
You of all people should not have been amused by their troubles, their wrecked nation.
You shouldn't have taken the shirt off their back when they were knocked flat, defenseless.
And you shouldn't have stood waiting at the outskirts and cut off refugees,
and traitorously turned in helpless survivors who had lost everything."

These two nations were enemies. Yet God insists that Edom should not have taken joy in the troubles of their enemy. This is a very radical position. And it is one that I have struggled with for years, now.

I live in a country that tends to be very patriotic. And there hasn't been such a rise in patriotism as was seen the weeks following 9/11 in probably 50 years. There were flags flying everywhere.

As that wave of patriotism died down, we were faced with acts of Congress with names like "The Patriot Act," which could well be named, the "Kiss Your Privacy Goodbye" act. All in the name of the "War on Terror" (I wish I could spell "terror" the way Bush pronounces it...but I can't figure out how to make it a one-syllable word).

Most of the nation rejoiced at the toppling of Sadaam Hussein. And I would never deny that he was a pretty bad man, and probably "needed killin'."

But as Christians, where is our allegiance, really? Where is our citizenship? It is my sincere belief that my citizenship is, first, in heaven, and second, in the United States. And, as a citizen of another world altogether, my world view should be more "world-encompassing."

We have been charged by God to care for the under-privileged of the world. The widows and orphans are dear to the heart of God. My dear friend Marshall Kitron (you can find his blog at marshallinperu.blogspot.com) is in Peru in a village called Pucallpa, working with the Ashenika. His major desire is to build and orphanage. The funding is not their for that, right now, so he is there with South American Missions, working with youth of other missionaries, while helping a local pastor with his church. Marshall has heard the call to help orphans.

If we hear that call and know where God's heart is, why do we work so hard to throw them out of our cities? I struggle so much with these issues. And it doesn't help much that my own particular calling isn't in this area at all, but in the area of church worship leadership. That doesn't mean that I con't care about the other issues. I do care, and I care about what our government does to "help" the situations. I also struggle, consequently, with the "illegal alien" situation. What should be the Christian response to this? I haven't worked that out yet.

What I do know, though, to get back to the topic at hand, is that God expects us to show mercy, even to our enemies. So that means, if I see a Muslim who has been hurt or fallen on hard times, I am not supposed to rejoice in that. I'm supposed to help him. Even if he tries to kill me while I'm trying to help him. How many of us are that committed to God's agenda?

Questions from my book: "What role does the love of God play in political affairs?"

Hah! Easy answer. None, whatsoever.

"What role does the love of God play in how nations treat the peoples of the world whom God loves?"

None.

Thing is, I'm not sure that it should, on either question. God is not about politics. God does not expect our political systems to work on these principles. (At least I don't think so.) What God does expect is for us, as individual Christians, and as the Church, to be active in the world. The gospel works like leaven in a lump of bread. A very small amount permeates the entire lumb in a short amount of time. We have this gospel in our hearts, and we have the responsibility to share it with the world. In all honesty, the government's role is simply to protect the people who live under it. Period. Sometimes that means people of other nations get killed. Can't be helped. But, as Derek Webb said, "I will protest the sword if it's not wielded well."

The other thing to consider, though, is that the world leaders are in God's hands, too. The Psalms say that their hearts are like rivers in his hands...he can change their course whenever he pleases.



Father, I pray for peace in this world. I know that peace is from you. And I know that we are to be at peace with all men, if possible. That is a difficult task for us, as individual Christians, but it is possible with you.

I will join with others, though, in praying for you to mold the hearts of world leaders towards peace. Especially those nations that have been fighting for centuries. But I will not pray that that peace compromises the position of Israel, because I know the place that Israel holds in your heart. I pray that our nation will stay in a favorable relationship with Israel.

I also pray for Christians who have felt the call to be active in political endeavors around the world. I pray that they act according to your wishes to portray radical love to all people.



As an exercise in this teaching, find a map of the world somewhere, and find a nation that is an enemy of ours (or yours if you live in a different one). Pray for the people and leaders of that nation. You can do that. If Christ lives in you, you can do it.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com