Seeking Good
2008-06-07

Psalm for today: Psalm 28

"Hear the voice of my pleas for mercy, when I cry to you for help,
when I lift up my hands toward your most holy sanctuary." Verse 2



Day 174

Amos 5:7,11-15

The passage is full of imagery of injustice.

"...stomp righteousness into the mud."

"...run roughshod over the poor..."

"...take the bread right out of their mouths..."

"...bully right-living people..."

"...taking bribes right and left..."

"...kicking the poor when they're down."

The verdict? "Justice is a lost cause. Evil is epidemic. Decent people throw up their hands. Protest and rebuke are useless, a waste of breath."

Sound familiar at all? Written centuries ago about Israel, is this also a prediction of our own world, our own society? Or is it just the nature of mankind in general?

But God does not leave us without a remedy.

"Seek good and not evil--and live!
You talk about GOD, the God-of-the-Angel-Armies, being your best friend.
Well, live like it, and maybe it will happen.

Hate evil and love good, then work it out in the public square.
Maybe GOD, the God-of-the-Angel-Armies, will notice your remnant and be gracious."



Father, help me to seek good and not evil. Help me live in such a way that I don't completely ignore the plight of the poor, those who are denied justice on a daily basis. There may not be a whole lot I can do about it on my own, but I can pray, and I can help in small ways. We call upon you to take action against the constand injustice that we see in our land. But fire, help us to be in right standing with you, so our prayers may be effective. Let us elevate righteousness, not stomp it into the mud.


"Seek good and not evil--and live!"

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com