How Can I Give Up On You?
2008-05-29

Weird week this week, what with the Monday holiday and all. Doesn't feel like Thursday today, but I'm glad it is.


Psalm for today: Psalm 23

Even non-believers know this one, but give it a fresh reading.

"The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name's sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever."

How much more "positive reinforcement" could a person possibly need? Eh?



Day 169

Hosea 11:1-5,7-9

This is an extremely moving, important passage! God describes the unfaithfulness of Israel, in spite of the fact that he stuck with them through everything. "But he never acknowledged my help...Now he wants to go back to Egypt or over to Assyria--anything but return to me!" Then, "My people are hell-bent on leaving me."

But the result? "But how can I give up on you, Ephraim? How can I turn you loose, Israel? I can't even bear to think such thoughts. My insides churn in protest. And so I'm not going to act on my anger. I'm not going to destroy Ephraim. And why? Because I am God and not a human. I'm the Holy One and I'm here--in your very midst."

This is truly amazing. Israel constantly chased after other "gods," yet the one true God never abandoned them. Oh, yes, he had them carried off to Babylon, but he never left them. I find such comfort in this as I think about my own relationship with God. I'm so fickle. Not fickle in the sense that one day I believe and the next day I don't. I can't remember a time since I was a child that I didn't believe. Sure, there have been doubts along the way, but never unbelief. What I mean when I say "fickle" is that I'm not always obedient. But I believe that I can take from this passage (and others, too) that God will never leave me. He will not give up on me. No matter what.



Father, I see this passage, and my heart both leaps for joy and bows in shame. Joy because I know that you will always be here with me. Shame because I know I don't deserve it. This inspires me to try harder...to do better...to be more obedient to you and what you want out of my life. There is so much I could do that would be positive if I would just be obedient. Give me that strenght. Let me be free to experience life in your love. Just last night at work, Phillipp and I were looking at the passage in Ephesians 3 where Paul prays that we would be "rooted and grounded in love." Let me be grounded, Lord. Grounded in your love. Give me deep roots...let me be like that tree, planted by streams of water, in Psalm 1.


The phrase that most caught my attention in this passage was "And why? Because I am God and not a human." This is why God will not give up on us. I would have given up on me years ago. But I'm not God.

I plan to stop often during tonight's work to mull over that phrase. He's God, not a human. That is how he can love us like he does.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com