The Right Path To Life
2008-05-22

Prayers go out to Contemporary Christian Music artist Stephen Curtis Chapman and family, after they lost their five-year-old daughter in a tragic accident yesterday. I don't know many details, but it apparently involved her older brother, as well. It's a horrible tragedy, and they need our prayers.


Psalm for today: Psalm 17

"I call upon you, for you will answer me, O God;
incline your ear to me; hear my words.
Wondrously show your steadfast love,
O Savior of those who seek refuge
from their adversaries at your right hand.
Keep me as the apple of your eye;
hide me in the shadow of your wings,
from the wicked who do me violence,
my deadly enemies who surround me." Verses 6-9



Day 163

Daniel 12:1-3

This passage seems to be a description of the "end times." I generally try to avoid end times discussions, because there are many, many opinions concerning the issue, and all claim to have Biblical backing. I will say that I am not a believer in the popular "rapture" theory. I can see why it's popular...who wants to go through worldwide tribulation?? But I just don't see it as clearly in the Bible as some claim.

This passage, however, speaks of Michael, who I believe is referred to elsewhere as an archangel. He is called in The Message "champion of your people." I looked back a couple of chapters, and apparently there is another angel speaking to Daniel. So he is told in this passage that Michael, "champion of your people," will step in and "your people will be saved from the trouble, every last one found written in the Book." Now, of course, "your people," to Daniel, would refer to the Hebrews. So, once again, even though many would take this reference to be meaning a "rapture" of the saved, I don't necessarily see that.

Anyway, the question is asked how talk like this, of end times, makes me feel. Excited or scared? My answer is...both. It excites me to read passages that deal with the issue of end times. It excites me to think that we might be approaching the end of time as we know it. But it is also scary, because there are a lot of unknown factors involved. Nevertheless, my hope is in the Lord, and I believe that, whatever happens, I will be resting in him after it's all over with.

Verse three speaks of people who "lived wisely and well," as shining brilliantly, like a cloudless, starry night. How do we know if we haved lived wisely? It also says, "And those who put others on the right path to life will glow like stars forever." What does it mean to put others on the right path to life? I believe that this is referring to people who have led people to Christ, for he is the only "right path to life." Those who have "lived wisely and well," I believe to be those who have followed Christ in their lives. None of us has lived perfectly, but many have followed the path.

We have opportunities daily to direct someone to the right path. How often do I take those opportunities? Not often enough, I confess. I am too often wrapped up in my own troubles (or lack thereof).

There is also talk in this passage of those who have been long dead being "aweakend." Some to everlasting life and some to shame and everlasting contempt. Is this fair of God? Certainly so. First of all, God is God, so whatever he does is just. But beyond that, he has given all men ample opportunity to follow him. Therefore, he is totally just to mete out whatever consequences he sees fit.



Father, I am sometimes confused about the details of the future. However, I see the world spinning towards the end, and am eagerly anticipating your return in Christ. I grow weary of the world's circumstances. And we see more and more "natural" disasters every year. People are getting meaner and meaner, just not caring about anyone but themselves. We have to be close to the end. But then, I'm pretty sure every generation of Christians has felt the same way. I pray for help to be one who has "lived wisely and well" when that day comes to shine forth. I pray also that I might be instrumental in putting others on "the right path to life." Let me be more aware of opportunities to do so. I also pray that you help me stay on that path, as well.


"Live with confidence today, knowing that God has already secured the future and will be victorious."

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com