A Mouthful
2008-05-14

Psalm for today: 9

"I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart;
I will recount all of your wonderful deeds.
I will be glad and exult in you;
I will sing praise to your name,
O Most High." Verses 1-2



Day 155

Ezekiel 3:1-11

Here we go with one of the weirdest prophets in the Bible! We're even skipping the whole part about the "wheel within a wheel" and the living creatures that Ezekiel saw, which very well may have been the seraphim that hover around the throne of the Almighty.

In today's passage, God tells Ezekiel to eat the book in front of him. I guess it was more of a scroll. But, nevertheless, he is told to eat it. All of it. "Make a full meal of it." So he did. And he says it tasted like honey.

What was the point? It was a living metaphor. Later in the passage, around verse 10, God says, "Son of man, get all these words that I'm giving you inside you. Listen to them obediently." This is what God desires from us. Not to eat the paper that the words are printed on, but the "get all these words...inside of you." We need to make God's Word an integral, intimate part of our existence.

What do the words of God taste like in our mouths? Do they taste like honey? Sweet? Or are they bitter? Like cinnamon (ever tasted cinnamon with no sugar mixed in? YUCK!!)?



Father, help me make your words my own. Help me to get them inside me, letting them become part of the very core of my life. And may they taste sweet to me, like honey. I do love your Word, but it needs to be a more vital part of my everyday life. Not just during this 20 minutes or so every day that I spend reading. Give me more of a desire for your words every day.


Get some honey. Taste it. Savor it. Then pray that God will give you such a desire for Scripture that it will taste like honey on your lips.

Grace and peace, friends!



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com