God's Deep Commitment
2008-05-06

Psalm for today: 4

"In peace I will both lie down and sleep;
for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety." Verse 8



Day 150

Jeremiah 51:1-5

In this passage, God describes the destruction and devastation he has in store for Babylon. He's sending "Hurricane Persia" after them. "They will spare nothing and no one. It's final and wholesale destruction--the end!" But why? Here's the answer in the final lines: "It turns out that Israel and Judah are not widowed after all. As their God, GOD-of-the-Angel-Armies, I am still alive and well, committed to them even though they filled their land with sin against Israel's most Holy God."

There is some pretty serious imagery here in this passage. My reaction to it is that Babylon got what they deserved. But it's interesting to see how God uses nations in his plans. God used Babylon to punish Israel. Then he used Persia to punish Babylon for their imprisonment of Israel. To the casual observer this seems very unfair. The thing is, anything God wants to do is "fair." As the Psalmist says, "Our God is in the heavens, he does whatever he pleases." Or to put it another way, "He's God and we are not."

The most important part of the passage, though is right at the end. God solidifies his committment to Israel and Judah. And the key phrase in this committment is this: "...even though they filled their land with sin..."

Read that again. ...even though they filled their land with sin...

God's committment is unconditional.



Father, I read this passage, and I am filled with hope and encouragement. Also gratitude that, in the big picture, I am not "Babylon" or "Persia." You have chosen me to be a part of your family, and I will be eternally grateful for that act on your part. You could have easily left me out. I am filled with hope, though, that your committment to me is unconditional. You are committed to your children, "even though they fill their land with sin." We need not worry about you forsaking us when we mess up. You will remain faithful, for that is your nature.


If we could live our lives under this hope and encouragement, what a difference it would make. We get so easily sidetracked, though. Then we forget. God loves us fiercely. I love how Rich Mullins put it. He called it "the reckless, raging fury they call the love of God."

I really need to spend some time in the days ahead to learn more about this love.

Grace and peace, friends.



2 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com