Bad Things Happen To Very Good People
2008-05-04

Psalm for today: 3

"But you, O LORD, are a shield about me,
my glory, and the lifter of my head.
I cried aloud to the LORD,
and he answered me from his holy hill." Verses 3-4



Day 149

Jeremiah 38:1-6

The title of this devotional is true. And this passage is only one example of the truth of it. Jeremiah is, as the prophet of God, speaking the true words of God. The government officials don't like what they hear, so the petition the king and he allows them to do whatever they want with Jeremiah. So the lower him into a cistern (we would probably think of it as a well?), which had no water in it, but mud. Jeremiah sank into the mud.

Is it difficult for you to accept that "bad" things happen to people who love God and do good? It isn't difficult for me at all. And this is one reason I can encourage my friend, Andy, against the kind of advice he's getting from, of all people, a Baptist pastor! This pastor should know better! I'm not saying that Andy is "very good." But I am saying that the fact that he has fallen on hard times does NOT necessarily mean that he has committed some huge sin! If we follow that line of reasoning, then we must also assume that when an unbeliever wins the lottery, he must have done something really good to deserve it! It's just plain bad theology! And a man who calls himself pastor should know better. He should go back and read my entry from a couple days ago about making sure he's speaking the truth if he speaks in the name of God.

Anyway...so I have no difficulty at all believing/accepting that "bad" things happen to "good" people. Notice I put "bad" in quotations? Because "bad" is relative. I'm betting that our definition of "bad" may not always line up with God's. Take, for example, Joseph in the Old Testament. Brothers tried to kill him, sold him into slavery, he got put into prison because the boss's wife accused him of trying to rape her (when it was her who came on to him), then he was totally forgotten about until the king had a bad dream. Suddenly, Joseph is second in command to the entire known world. So you tell me. Was it "bad" when he got sold into slavery?? Hmmm....The Bible even says..."God meant it for good." So there you go.

Now, if I put myself in Jeremiah's place, here, I'm not sure how I feel. We've already seen Jeremiah complaining about people not listening to him or responding improperly. So I'm guessing that he's probably kind of bitter at this moment. I'd probably be praying desperately for God to get me out of there. At the same time, I would be pretty much alone with God down there. So there would be plenty of time for prayer and meditation. I think there would be a progression of emotional and spiritual thought. After the initial bitterness and anger wore off, there would probably arise a sense of spiritual peace as I communed with God. I would still be praying for God to get me out of there, though.

An interesting question is asked here. "What does it mean to hope in God's own being instead of simply hoping God will rescue you?" That's a good question. It means that no matter what your situation, God is enough. Maybe I've never been in a situation where that was even warranted. I've never been "stuck in the mud" like Jeremiah. I've been in tough spots, but they've all been caused by my own irresponsible actions. But at some point, it becomes necessary for God to be enough. Hmm...I go back to Chris Tomlin again: "All of you is more than enough for all of me, for every thirst and every need, you satisfy me with your love, and all I have in you is more than enough." Yes. This is true, and should be the attitude of every believer.



Father, I can't think of a situation where I've been stuck like Jeremiah, especially as "punishment" for doing the right thing. But there may come a day in the future where it might happen. So I ask to be prepared. Help me prepare myself for a day when you might be all I have. It's not so far fetched, is it? If that day ever comes, let me hope in your own being. Let you be enough for me. I pray that I can be satisfied totally with just you.


Let us rest in the idea that some days we have the companionship of God when it seems like we have nothing else. Let that be enough. Let us also be on the alert for people "sinking in the mud" whom we might be called to love and help.

Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com