I Will Answer You
2008-05-03

Psalm for today: Psalm 2--Subititled, "The Reign of the LORD's Anointed."

"Now therefore, O kings, be wise;
be warned, O rulers of the earth.
Serve the LORD with fear,
and rejoice with trembling.
Kiss the Son,
lest he be angry, and you perish in the way,
for his wrath is quickly kindled.
Blessed are all who take refuge in him." Verses 10-12



Day 148

Jeremiah 33:2-3

"This is God's Message, the God who made the earth, made it livable and lasting, known everywhere as GOD: 'Call to me and I will answer you. I'll tell you marvelous and wondrous things that you could never figure out on your own."

Once again, I'll remind anyone who might stumble across this rambling that I'm using The Message for this particular devotion. It's not my favorite translation by any stretch of the imagination, although I love what Eugene Peterson has accomplished with the Psalms. However, this devotion, called The Message//Remix:Solo, was one that I found interesting, and I like the challenging questions he poses in the daily devotions. I also like the idea of returning every seventh day to the six days prior to see what has been learned. Anyway, on to today's passage.

This is a beautiful passage! I remember memorizing Jeremiah 33:3 many years ago as part of the "Disciple's Prayerlife" study. What a promise, though. "Call to me and I will answer you." What more do you need? But he goes on to describe what he would show you. "...marvelous and wondrous things that you could never figure out for yourself."

As I read these words, the first thing that sticks out is the promise that he will answer. Many years later, in the New Testament, Jesus echoes the idea when he says "Ask, and you shall receive; seek, and you will find; knock, and the door will be opened." God hears his children. And he answers.

The next thing is what he will answer with. "Marvelous and wondrous things." Have you ever had God tell you "marvelous and wondrous things?" Now, I'll admit...I've never heard God's voice audibly. Many claim they have, and I will not dispute their claims. I've heard voices of people and have interpreted them to be from God. And I've had "feelings" that have come from God. I specifically remember one instance, somewhere around 25 years ago. I was recently divorced, and had gone to spend a week in east Texas with my two grandmothers. Both of them were living alone at this time, and were both still in pretty good health. I was in an emotional state that was fragile, but was spending massive amounts of time in God's word, seeking his wisdom. One afternoon, I was outside after a time of reading, and simply looked up and said, "God, am I really your child?" I will never forget the feeling that came over me immediately! I was flooded with a sense of complete love, such that I had never before, and never since experienced! It was as if God, himself, had stooped down and wrapped his arms around me and just held me. Yes. I called, he answered. He showed me something "marvelous and wondrous!"
This is why I believe that when we call, God will answer. This is why I believe that God's character is trustworthy. And this is why this particular passage resonates within me the way it does.



Father, I thank you still, 20+ years later, for answering me that day. And I thank you for reminding me this morning that, yes, when we call, you will answer. Let that be in the forefront of my thoughts throughout this next week. Let me call on you frequently, expecting answers. You know I'm trying to write a song for Stephanie, dear Lord. Let me call on you during this next week for an answer to that. Give me that song this week. Give me other songs that will lead people to praise and worship you.


Whatever is going on in your life right now, whether it be something that has you down severely, or joyful hilarity. Call out to God. He will answer you and show you marvelous and wondrous things. Give him your heart. He will treat it gently.

Grace and peace, friends.




0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com