Rotten As Old Shorts
2008-04-26

Psalms for today: 26, 56, 86, 116, 146

"What shall I render to the LORD for all his benefits to me?
I will lift up the cup of salvation and call on the name of the LORD,
I will pay my vows to the LORD in the presence of all his people." Psalm 116:12-14



Day 144

Jeremiah 13:1-11

This is kind of an odd passage that involves a pair of linen underwear that the Lord told Jeremiah to purchase. He was to wear them for a while, nonstop. Then he was told to go hide them in a crack in a rock at Perath. After a "long time," (unspecified length), Jeremiah was told to go back and retrieve them. They were rotted and worthless.

Then God explained, "This is the way I am going to ruin the pride of Judah and the great pride of Jerusalem--a wicked bunch of people who won't obey me, who do only what they want to do, who chase after all kinds of no-gods and worship them. They're going to turn out as rotten as these old shorts."



Father, just as these old shorts were ruined, I pray that you do ruin my pride. Let my pride die and rot. Replace it with pride only in you and the grace that you have put in my life. I have no pride in anything I've done or accomplished. Help me to be obedient and only worship you.


I guess that's it for today. If I seem a little down, it's because I am. More on my other diary about that later.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com