God's Knowledge of Us
2008-04-20

Psalms for today: 20, 50, 80, 110, 140

The LORD sends forth from Zion your might scepter.
Rule in the midst of your enemies!
Your people will offer themselves freely on the day of your power,
in holy garments;
from the womb of the morning,
the dew of your youth will be yours.--Psalm 110:2-3



Day 142

Jeremiah 1:5

"Before I shaped you in the womb,
I knew all about you.
Before you saw the light of day,
I had holy plans for you;
A prophet to the nations--
that's what I had in mind for you."

God knew Jeremiah even before he was conceived!

Is it difficult to believe that God knew me and had plans for me even before I was conceived? Not really. Not anymore. Perhaps many years ago it might have been hard for me to believe. But, in this phase of my life, believing what I believe about God, it is not difficult at all. It gives me great comfort, in fact, to know that God knew me before I was born, before I was conceived. To know that he had some kind of plan for me before the first cell even started dividing...this is great knowledge. However, I'm a lot like the writer of Psalm 139. I believe it, but it is difficult for me to grasp, hard to comprehend! I don't understand it. But that is the beauty, the wonder of faith. You don't have to understand something to believe it. Or at least I don't. I pity the person who can't believe anything they can't understand.

It excites me to know that God knows me intimately. But sometimes it scares me, too. Because that also means he knows my faults, my evil desires, my deepest sins. I don't want anyone to know those, right? But God knows them and loves me anyway. Chris Tomlins says, "You see the depths of my heart and you love me the same...you are amazing God!"

One more question...if God knows everything about us, why does he want us to pray? My answer to that is that it's a faith thing. Prayer is more for us than for him. It shows that we have faith in God to answer. We wouldn't pray if we didn't believe, would we?

Know this: The Creator of the universe, the living God, knows every possible thing about you.



Father, I know that you know everything about me. That both delights and terrifies me at the same time. You know my darkest thoughts and my most wonderful delights. You love me more than I could ever imagine. I praise you that you had some plan for me before my parents even knew each other. I thank you that you are constantly working that plan out. Let it come to pass. Let your Kingdom come in my life.


Meditate on the verse in today's reading. Know that God knows you, loves you, and has a plan for you, long before you were conceived.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com