Jesus Comes to You
2008-04-16

Psalms for today: 16, 46, 76, 106, 136

They did not destroy the peoples,
as the LORD commanded them,
but they mixed with the nations
and learned to do as they did.
They served their idols,
which became a snare to them.
They sacrificed their sons and their daughters to the demons;
they poured out innocent blood,
the blood of their sons and daughters,
whom they sacrificed to the idols of Canaan,
and the land was polluted with blood.
Thus they became unclean by their acts,
and played the whore in their deeds.--Psalm 106:34-39



Day 139

Isaiah 62:2-5

This passage describes something that is truly fantastic, and by "fantastic," I mean something that could only be found in a fantasy. But it is reality. It describes a relationship with God that is truly remarkable.

"You'll get a brand-new name straight from the mouth of GOD."

"You'll be a stunning crown in the palm of GOD's hand..."

"You'll be called Hephzibah (My Delight)..."

Here is the imagery of the believer being the bride of Christ. I don't understand all of the mystery around this, but it's there, so I believe it in faith.

This, I believe, is a reality that is one of the hardest for the non-believers to understand. Heck, I know of believers who don't even get this.

But how does it feel to know that God delights in you?? Stop and reflect on that for a moment. Andy, while you're carrying around your whole world in a backpack, do you stop and know that God delights in you? You are his delight! Amy and Tricia, God delights in you!! No matter what you're feeling at the moment. You are his delight! I don't know everyone's real name on my buddy list, but there are others to whom I shout out, "YOU ARE HIS DELIGHT!!" Onlygrace, silverluna, everyone...(forgive me for not typing in the links, ok?)

I, too, am God's delight! I have to know this, and I have to figure out how to get this knowledge from my head to my heart, the longest 18 inches in the universe. Oh, what a life we would lead if only we knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that God delights in us! But somehow, we just can't bring ourselves to believe that God could possibly delight in such broken, bent people. But he does. Oh, he does!



Father, I thank you that you delight in me. Help me to believe it fully! Help me to live accordingly, and help me to pass this delight on to others. Let my cup overflow to the point that those around me "get wet." Let me live in joy, in holy laughter. No, I won't always smile, but let there be joy.
Heh. I have no idea what I want my new name to be. I'll just leave that up to you, Father.


Rest in his delight. No matter what your situation, look at it and say to yourself, "Yes, this is true, but God delights in me."

Grace and peace, friends.



2 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com