The (Un)forgetful God of Heaven


Ugh. I'm tired and really don't feel like doing this. But I need it. So I do.


Psalms for today: 8, 38, 68, 98, 128

Make a joyful noise to the LORD, all the earth;
break forth into joyous songs and sing praises!
Sing praises to the LORD with the lyre, with the lyre and the sound of melody!
With trumpets and the sound of the horn
make a joyful noise before the King, the LORD!--Psalm 98:4-6

I don't see how anyone could read this and still think we shouldn't use musical instruments to worship God.



Day 134

Isaiah 49:13-18

The author asks if I can remember a specific time that I was forgotten. I can remember one that is a little humorous now, but wasn't at the time. I was at my previous doctor's office for my yearly checkup. I had been waiting for a good part of the afternoon, but no call-back. Soon, I was the only person left in the waiting room, and it was getting close to closing time. They looked at me rather quizzically and asked who I was. I got all kinds of apologies as they realized that they had emailed the wrong station when I arrived. That's how they let the doctor's people know a patient has arrived, but they sent it to the wrong place. I should have enquired much earlier, but I'm not a pushy person. I felt rather invisible at the moment.

To know that God will never forget me? That is a sweet knowledge. I'm sure that I don't always believe that to the depths of my heart. Mainly because I am sure that there are times that I am totally forgettable. I'm not any kind of celebrity. No one knows me from Adam, other than my immediate family, friends, and work associates. Who am I that God should take note of me, right? Well, in our passage for today, God says that he has written my name on the back of his hand. Whew. God must have a very big hand!


Father, I am grateful beyond words that you will never forget me. I thank you for writing my name on the back of your hand. I'm just a seemingly insignificant peon, struggling to have an existance here in Fort Worth, Texas. Struggling with my sins, baring my soul to you daily and trying to help other people see how worthy you are of their worship. Help my unbelief. My unbelief wants to tell me that you couldn't possibly "not forget" me. My unbelief wants to tell me that I'm not worth remembering. But you say different. Help me believe that I am who you say I am, not who my unbelief and my enemy, the devil, says I am.
I'm doing the authors suggestion at this point, no matter how "out there" it sounds. I've taken a Sharpie and made a small mark on the back of both of my hands. Every time I see those marks over the next few days (because it will take it a few days to wash off), I will remember that my name is written on the back of God's hand and he...will...never...forget...me.

Hallelujah! He will never forget.

Tomorrow, we look at "The Suffering Servant." Grace and peace, friends!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com