You're Mine
2008-04-05

Whoa! I missed two days. Oh, well.

Psalms for today: 6, 36, 66, 96, 126

Oh sing to the LORD a new song;
sing to the LORD, all the earth!
Sing to the LORD, bless his name;
tell of his salvation from day to day.
Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples!
For great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised;
he is to be feared above all gods.--Psalm 96:1-4



Dang. I just realized I read tomorrow's Psalms. Hehehe...Ok. Tomorrow, I'll read today's. Or yesterdays, because tomorrow will be today, then. *ouch*


Day 131

Isaiah 43:1-4

But now, GOD's Message,
the God who made you in the first place, Jacob,
the One who got you started, Israel:
"Don't be afraid, I've redeemed you.
I've called your name. You're mine.
When you're in over your head, I'll be there with you.
When you're in rough waters, you will not go down.
When you're between a rock and a hard place,
it won't be a dead end--
Because I am GOD, your personal God,
The Holy of Israel, your Savior.
I paid a huge price for you:
all of Egypt, with rich Cush and Seba thrown in!
That's how much you mean to me!
That's how much I love you!
I'd sell off the whole world to get you back,
trade the creation just for you."

1. Of God's words to you in this passage, what is your favorite? If I look at these words as being spoken directly to me, I find that my favorites are the ones that promise God's presence when I'm "in over my head." Or when I'm in "rough waters." God's presence in the rough times of my life means more than just about anything. I don't always recognize his presence during those times, but I can always look back and see that, yes, he was there.

2. Which phrase do you most need to hear from God? Probably the one that says, "That's how much you mean to me! That's how much I love you!" I've mentioned in hear before how hard it is for me to accept this. I always think I know me better than God does, so how could he love me? But, he does. He knows me better than I know me, and, as onlygrace has so aptly quoted, he has seen the depths of my heart, and he loves me the same.



Father, my head knows you love me. And somewhere in the murky depths of my heart, it knows you love me, too. Help me connect the two.

Why do so many of my prayer sentences begin with "help me?" Am I really that helpless. Sometimes, yes. It's how I know I need you. If I weren't helpless, I wouldn't realize that, would I?

Let me see your presence in the midst of hard times. Let me know your presence in the middle of a terrible night at work. I sick of getting mad all the time. Stupid things are going to happen at work all the time, and it doesn't help if I get angry about it. Help me know your presence during those times, so that it calms my spirit and I can dispense your grace to all who come in contact with me. How will they know that I am yours if I'm angry all the time?

I am always amazed at the truth of that line in "Indescribable," that you do see the depths of our hearts, yet you love us the same. I stand in awe of that love. It is beyond my comprehension.

But this I do know...I belong to you. I will always belong to you.



Read the words of this passage again, out loud, if possible. Let the echo of the words linger in your mind for a few minutes.

You belong to him.

Grace and peace, friends.



1 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com