A Strong God
2008-03-29

Psalms for today: 29, 59, 89, 149 (I'll be reading Psalm 119 Monday, March 31.)

Let the heavens praise your wonders, O LORD,
your faithfulness in the assembly of the holy ones!
For who in the skies can be compared to the LORD?
Who among the heavenly beings is like the LORD,
a God greatly to be feared in the council of the holy ones,
and awesome above all who are around him?
O LORD god of hosts,
who is mighty as you are, O LORD,
with your faithfulness all around you?

Here again, is mention of the "holy ones" and a council in which they gather. Intriguing stuff, this.


*Mmm...Christi just brought me breakfast from Braum's...I'll try not to get crumbs on the diary*


Day 127

Isaiah 27:1-5

In the first part of this passage, there is vivid imagery of God unsheathing his sword and killing the dragon, Leviathan. Then, in verses 2-5, we get an image of a vineyard sprouting up somewhere ("at that same time," it says). God says he will tend this vineyard, making it his own, and the vine will cling to him, finding a good and whole life with him.

As I read this passage, I see how God interacts with two different entities. With the dragon, he is merciless, destroying it completely. With the vineyard, he is compassionate, loving and nurturing.

Perhaps I'm reading too much into this, but, since the vineyard sprouted up at the same time that the dragon was killed, I almost have to believe that the dragon was the mortal enemy of the vineyard. Therefore, I see that God protects his vineyard against all enemies. If I put myself in the story as a vine in the vineyard (after all, that is one of the many things that Jesus compared us to), then I find myself under God's mighty sword of protection. I have a strong feeling of contentment and safety. My heart's desire, as a vine-branch, is to cling to God, the owner and protector of the vineyard.



Father, as I share these feelings with you this morning, I sense that you are not angry with me, as I often think you are. Your loving care for me, as your "vine-branch," creates a stronger desire in me to cling to you. Help me to find that good and whole life with you.


Hopefully, I will take away from this time a stronger desire to cling to my Father and find true life in him. I definitely feel a little more safe under his protection.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com