God Encounters
2008-03-28

Tomorrow, our "little" girl turns 19. *sniff*


Psalms for today: 28, 58, 88, 118, 148

O LORD, God of my salvation,
I cry out day and night before you.
Let my prayer come before you;
incline your ear to my cry!

For my soul is full of troubles,
and my life draws near to Sheol.
I am counted among those who go down to the pit;
I am a man who has no strength,
like one set loose among the dead,
like the slain that lie in the grave,
like those whom you remember no more,
for they are cut off from your hand.
You have put me in the depths of the pit,
in the regions dark and deep.
Your wrath lies heavy upon me,
and you overwhelm me with all your waves.


I know this one's kid of a downer, but it shows that sometimes, God places us in a dark place, a place that St. John of the Cross called the "dark night of the soul." But he is faithful to pull us out of the pit in due time.


Day 126

It's review day again, so here goes...

Day 120--Make the Most of Your Youth

I still have a lot of potential for God, even though I'm 50. I need to be available to him and make the most o fit.

Day 121--Accepted Just As You Are

God loves me as I am. I can't change to make him love me more, and I can't do something to make him love me less. His love for me is everlasting and unchanging. And it is intimate. Unlike some, I am not uncomfortable with that thought at all. I pray for God to help me achieve a deeper level of intimacy with him.

Day 122--God Has Eyes For You

I desire to be considered a "dear friend" to God, and want to be one who "speaks each syllable with sensitivity to God." I need God's help to grasp how loved I am by him. I also need to understand what it means to treasure him above all things.

Day 123--Love Is Invincible

YES!! God's love for us is like a fire that sweeps through everything in front of it. Our love for him should be the same, as should our love for each other.

Day 124--Burning Off Sin

There are places in my life that need to be touched by the burning coal of God's purifying fire. I ask for God to let me see my sin through his eyes that I might be as repulsed by it as he is.

Day 125--The Peacable Kingdom of God

The future kingdom is described, one where wolves and lambs live together, with no fear of being preyed upon. But even better is the description of how well everyone will know God in this kingdom. "The whole earth will be brimming with knowing God-Alive, a living knowledge of God ocean-deep, ocean wide."



Rachel's here...must go give hugs.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com