Accepted Just As You Are
2008-03-23

I'm listening to a beautiful song, thanks to Hergarden, called "The Power of the Cross." Yet another great hymn-like song by Stuart Townend, along with Keith Getty. Wow. It's absolutely beautiful. Hah! I've got music for it, too. We'll be singing that at church very soon!


Psalms for today: 23, 53, 83, 113, 143

Fill their faces with shame,
that they may seek your name, O LORD.
Let them be put to shame and dismayed forever;
let them perish in disgrace,
that they may know that you alone,
whose name is the LORD,
are the Most High over all the earth.--Psalm 83:16-18



Day 121

Song of Songs 1:5-10

Who is speaking in this passage? In 5-7, it is the Shulammite girl, in 8-10, it is her lover, sometimes known as "The Beloved." We need to keep in mind that, no matter what translation you are reading, those headings that indicate who is speaking are not in the original texts. They have all been inserted by translators.

The situation in this passage is that the girl is responding to some criticism about her complexion. Apparently her skin has been darkened and weathered by the sun. She is afraid that her lover will look down on her because of that. She fears being left out, abandoned.

I am frequently concerned about what others think about me. But then I notice that people, in general, are pretty accepting.

Note that, in verse 8, the man calls the girl "loveliest of all women." He doesn't seem to mind her complexion at all. In fact, he compares her to a beautiful, satiny mare. Also notice his comments about her jewelry. Rather than focus on the beauty of the gold or whatever, he says that it enhances her physical features. Her neckaces "illumine the curve of your throat."

I believe our Father loves us in the same way. I believe he calls us "lovely." I think he sees in us the beauty of his creation, especially when viewed through the "blood-staine glasses" of Christ's sacrifice for us.

I was reading some forum comments yesterday (not sure how I got there) that were complaining about the romantic nature of some worship songs. I pity those people. I don't think the truly understand what it means to love Jesus. I believe there is great need for this kind of intimate feeling about our relationship with God through Christ. After all, there is much talk of a wedding in Revelation. We, the church, are called the "bride" of Christ. I don't understand all the implications of this at all, but it seems to lend itself to a romantic type of love. I have no problem with that all.



Father, I thank you for accepting me as I am, for that is how you have created me. I thank you for choosing me, giving me the ability to love you. I thank you that this love is more than just a "from-a-distance" love. It is intimate. In fact, I can't seem to achieve the level of intimacy that I believe you want. I ask for your help to get there.


On this Easter Sunday, I encourage you to stop and feel the love of God. He loves us with a love that is deeper than we could ever understand.

Grace ane peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com