Giving In To Every Impulse
2008-03-15

Psalms for today: 15, 45, 75, 105, 135

For not from the east or from the west and not from the wilderness comes lifting up,
but it is from God who executes judgment,
putting down one and lifting up another.
For in the hand of the LORD there is a cup with foaming wine, well mixed,
and he pours out from it, and all the wicked of the earth shall drain it down to the dregs.--Psalm 75:6-8



Day 114

Ecclesiastes 2:4-10

The writer of Eccesiastes has indulged in every pleasurable thing that came to mind. At one point, he says, "I never said no to myself."

1. What pleasures have you pursued in the past week?

*Entertainment pleasures through various means...we saw a movie yesterday, watched tv programs on DVD, I've played games, surfed the web, and read books.

*I've kept my belly full with the pleasures of food and drink (even a bottle of wine the night of my birthday).

*I've also sought the pleasures of God through devotions, prayer, and Bible reading.

2. What were your motives for pursuing and engaging in those pleasures?

*The obvious answer is to feel good. To entertain myself. That is the plain and simple motive behind most pleasures. I pursue the pleasure of food because food tastes good. It makes my mouth feel good. Reading books entertains my mind and imagination. Playing games entertains some part of me I can't quite identify at the moment...Heh... Movies and tv shows entertain the emotions as well as the imagination.

*But the motive for pursuing the pleasures of God...and I do call them pleasure, because I agree with John Piper on this one. God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in him. This is the "credo" of "Christian Hedonism." The motive for this is that I want to be more like him. I have a deeply true heart's desire to follow God and to live by his promises in my life.

3. What does it mean that you pursue pleasure? In other words, what lies does pleasure whisper in your ear?

(I don't really like this question. It assumes that all pleasure is bad. However, I will attempt to give an answer.)

When I pursue worldly pleasures, it means that I am relaxed for the time being from pursuing God. I don't make excuses for this. Does anyone pursue God 24/7? And I believe that I can spend time relaxing and being entertained while still maintaining my love for God. I will also confess, though, that certain genres of entertainment don't really lend themselves to "Christlikeness."

Does pleasure whisper lies in my ears? Surely. Lies like, "It's ok just this once." Or, "Just this last time, and then no more." Or, "God doesn't really mind if you do/watch/read/look at this."

We do need discernment, don't we?



Father, guide me in my pursuits for pleasure. Help me to not seek pleasure that does not glorify you. (That's a bold request...)Sculpt my desires so that the pleasure I seek is you. Give me the desires of my heart; that is, make the desires of my heart what you want my heart to desire. Let me not search for meaning and significance anywhere but in you. Give me discernment in knowing what is a worthless pursuit.


Let us live this week examining every pleasure that attempts to worm its way into our lives. Is it really worth it?

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com