The Skeptic and the Believer
2008-03-14

Psalms for today: 14, 44, 74, 104, 134

Arise, O God, defend your cause;
remember how the foolish scoff at you all the day!
Do not forget the clamor of your foes, the uproar of those who rise against you, which goes up continually!--Psalm 74:22-23



Day 113

Proverbs 30:1-9

Here is an imagined dialogue between a skeptic and a believer.

The skeptic swears that there is no God. Mostly using the tired old argument, "I can't see him."

The believer insists that every promise of God proves to be true and that God protects everyone who runs to him for help. The believer then prays for two things. First that his lips tell no lies and that liars be removed from his presence. Second that he have just enough food to live on. Not too much, lest he decide he doesn't need God, and not too little, lest he dishonor God's name by stealing.

I am most deeply touched first by the declaration that God protects those who run to him and that his promises are all true. Secondly, by the prayer for just enough. I agree with the sentiment in that prayer that if I have too much, I might forget that I need God. I don't see myself ever stealing, but you never know what you will do in a situation until you face that situation.

I'm considering fasting as part of my weekly routine of devotions. I know that fasting was an important part of the life of the early Christians, and the Scriptures seem to assume that it would be part of any Christian's life with God. If I do, I will probably choose a couple days a week and fast from dinner one night until dinner the next night. I also won't mention it again, unless it has some bearing on something I'm discussin in this journal. I definitely won't boast about it, and no one else will know I'm even doing it. It will be for me and God, only.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com