God Encounters
2008-03-06

Heh. It's snowing in Fort Worth.

Texas.

In March.

Heh.



Psalms for today: 6, 36, 66, 96, 126

Shout for joy to God, all the earth;
sing the glory of his name;
give to him glorious praise!
Say to God, "How awesome are your deeds!
So great is your power that your enemies come cringing to you.
All the earth worships you and sings praises to you;
they sing praises to your name."--Psalm 66:1-4

Yes, yes, and hallelujah!!


Day 105

It's review day, so I'll be looking at the devotions over the past 6 days to see what God taught me.

Day 99--Worth Far More Than Money
Proverbs 2:2-5

Wisdom is something worth chasing after with all my might. It's "better than a big salary." I asked for discernment to know wisdom when I find it.

Day 100--Keep Watch Over Your Heart
Proverbs 4:20-23;5:8-14

Don't want to get to the end of life and be full of regrets. I want to learn the words of God so that they can have impact on my life and the lives of those around me. I desire to keep watch over my heart, because that's where life starts. It's where God is. My heart belongs to him.

Day 101--Lured Into Ambush
Proverbs 7:7-8,13-23

"Do what you know is right; don't do what you know is wrong."--Andy's mother.

I don't want to be like the foolish young man who was lured into the sinful embrace of the temptress. But it's all so easy to be lured. Once again, the remedy is to keep the words of God and treasure his commands.

Day 102--Self-examination
Proverbs 10:22-32

This was a kind of lengthy entry, but it served a purpose of asking myself (or God, rather) which type of person I was, which type of speech I engage in as the passage compares them. The important thing is that, no matter what our condition, if we are believers in Christ, then our position is just that...IN CHRIST. Whatever results our self-examinations yield, we can rest assured that this does not change our position in Christ. However, it gives us goals to achieve as we strive to become more like Christ daily.

Day 103--Wisdom On Your Doorstep
Proverbs 14:2-13

I examined cynicism and how it hinders one from finding wisdom. The cynic, according to our passage, can never find wisdom, now matter how vigilantly he looks. We can, however, find wisdom right on our front doorstep. It's really that easy to find. The Message says that the "open-minded" can find it on the doorstep. The ESV simply says that "knowledge is easy for a man of understanding." I pray for this understanding and the killing of my cynical nature.

Day 104--The Importance of Words
Proverbs 16:21-32

Our speech is important. But almost more important than the actual words is the spirit behind the word, or the attitude behind the word. I pray for my words to be tempered with grace. I pray for a spirit of peace and mercy in the way I speak to other people.

That's it for this time.

Grace and peace, friends...



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com