The Importance of Words
2008-03-05

Unfortunately, I have to hurry a bit today. I hate that, too. Can't hurry the Spirit of God...


Psalms for today: 5, 35, 65, 95, 125

When iniquities prevail against me, you atone for our transgressions.
Blessed is the one you choose and bring near, to dwell in your courts!
We shall be satisfied with the goodness of your house, the holiness of your temple!--Psalm 65:3-4



Always soberly remember that Christ commanded us to do good to our enemies.


Day 104

Proverbs 16:21-32

Gracious speech is like clover honey--
good taste to the soul, quick energy for the body.--Verse 24

Troublemakers start fights;
gossips break up friendships.--Verse 28

What kind of words have I used over the past 24 hours? I don't think I can break them up into percentages of kind and uplifting versus mean-spirited and potentially offensive. I would like to hope that my words are more uplifting, but sometimes that's just not the case.

And other times, you can say words that might normally be uplifting, but the expression on your face or your tone of voice negates the quality of the words.

I'm not one of these people who believe that, as Christians, we should always be "smiley, happy people," but there should be a quality to our words that is different.

This passage of Proverbs centers on those different types of words and the attitudes that come with them. The two quotes are the two verses that stood out to me. One positive and one negative.

You've heard it said, "You can catch more flies with honey than with vinegar..." Well, kind words can heal a lot of souls. Uplifting speech energizes while gossip or mean speech sucks the life out of one.

We should strive to never let words come out of our mouths that we will regret later. There are times I have actually been embarrassed by things that I let come out of my mouth.



Father, let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in your sight. Forgive me for words that I have spoken that are harsh and mean, unthinking, or even worse, on purpose. Thank you for times when kind, uplifting words were spoken.

Always bring to my mind words of truth and healing. I never know who needs healing words and sometimes, I might say just the right thing to someone, not knowing anything about their circumstances.

Bring people into my life that need these healing words. That would be a good test of my resolve.


Ask God to guard your mouth by thinking before speaking. Hah. Easier said than done, eh?

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com