Wisdom On Your Doorstep
2008-03-04

Psalms for today: 4, 34, 64, 94, 124

Let the righteous one rejoice in the LORD and take refuge in him!
Let all the upright in heart exult!--Psalm 64:10



The demands of Jesus are only as hard to obey as his promises are hard to cherish and his presence is hard to treasure.

John Piper--What Jesus Demands from the World--p. 185


Day 103

Proverbs 14:2-13

Cynics look high and low for wisdom--and never find it;
the open-minded find it right on their doorstep.--Verse 6

I've been guilty of being cynical for a large part of my life. I've even heard the old definition that says, "A cynic is someone who knows the price of everything, but the value of nothing." That cynicism seems to be softening up a bit, as I get older, and hopefully, more wise. I don't know about the wisdom, but I'm finding plenty of it in God's Word, as he shows me where to find it. Right on my front doorstep, apparently.

The point of that is that wisdom is just kind of laying around, waiting for people to stumble over her. It's not as though she is difficult to find. But if we live lives of cynicism, we won't find wisdom.

So I'm trying harder than ever to lay down that cynical spirit ("cynicism" and it's derivatives is apparently really hard to type) and search even harder for wisdom.

Father, I am aware of my cynical nature and the places that it has gotten me into. I know that this spirit has kept me from finding true wisdom for much of my life. I give that cynical spirit over to you. Destroy it in me; kill it. Burn it with your holy fire. Show me where to find the wisdom that "keeps life on track" (verse 8), keeping me out of the ditch of life.

Help me be a loving influence in the lives of everyone around me. Let people be shaking their heads in wonder at the transformation that seems to be taking place in my life.

I sense God inviting me to begin to look at life from a new perspective. From a more "childlike" point of view. A sort of return to innocence, if you will. Perhaps that is possible.

Treasure his presence. Cherish his promises. Find his wisdom.

Grace and peace, friends.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com