Self-Examination
2008-03-03

We had a most amazing day at church yesterday! Funny how that works, isn't it? I'd been sick all weekend, really didn't feel like doing it, and had not really put a lot of thought into my choices for worship songs.

But apparently God had put a lot of thought into them.

Our worship ROCKED Sunday morning! People were really getting into it. I was really getting into it. I had one of the best worship times I've had in weeks. Funny thing about that...as the worship leader, sometimes I don't actually get to "worship" a whole lot, because, unfortunately, my mind is on a lot of other things. I'm sure anyone who is a pastor can certainly identify, as well.

But yesterday, I worshipped, crackly voice and all. A few times, I even stopped singing, and just played my guitar and soaked it in. It was awesome.

Prior to the worship time, our Bible study group was also great. We are working through Experiencing God, and yesterday's session was pretty awesome. More and more, we are beginning to realize what we are missing out on when we don't follow God more intimately. What would this world look like if every Christian took the time to figure out what GOD is doing around them and began to work with him instead of just brainstorming all these "new-fangled" ideas and crazy marketing schemes (no thanks to you, George Barna!), and then expecting God to bless them. Pft. God has his own agenda, and if we don't join up with that, then we are wondering around like lost sheep.

Heh...anyway, it was a good day. And I'm looking forward to a good week. So here goes...



Psalms for today: 3, 33, 63, 93, 123

Today, I'm quoting one of my favorite Psalms, number 63. It's the text that I believe Rich Mullins' friend Beaker used for that wonderful song, "Step By Step."

O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you, my soul thirst for you;
my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory.
Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you.
So I will bless you as long as I live;
in your name I will lift up my hands.

My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food,
and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips.--Psalm 63:1-5

O God, you are my God
And I will ever praise you
O God, you are my God
And I will ever praise you
I will seek you in the morning
And I will learn to walk in your ways
And step by step, You'll lead me
And I will follow you all of my days...

I miss Rich Mullins so much...



Day 102

Proverbs 10:22-32

At the urging of the devotional book, I stood in front of a mirror and read the passage. Then I simply stood motionless for a minute and stared at my reflection.

He makes the point that when we read passages such as this, that compare the righteous or "good" people with those who are "evil," we tend to think about other people and be glad that we aren't like them.

But we should always be more careful, I should always be more careful to examine myself. To think about myself in light of Scripture. Not in order to punish myself for my shortcomings, but to keep things in perspective. Because even when we are well aware of our condition and failures, we still need to be aware of our position before God which is "IN CHRIST."

So I examine myself. But, you know, honestly, I don't find any surprises. I'm not one who tries to hide behind anything. I've always been pretty comfortable with the state of my "worminess." Not comfortable in the sense that I don't want to change, but comfortable in the sense that I have accepted my sinful condition.

I never liked it when the Southern Baptists changed the words of the Wesley hymn, "Alas and Did My Savior Bleed," for the 1975 hymnal. It used to go like this:

Alas, and did my Savior bleed
And did my Sovereign die,
Would he devote that sacred head
For such a worm as I?

But, in an effort to not have to feel quite so bad about ourselves, we changed the last line. People didn't like that "worm" word. So they changed it to say, "For sinners such as I." Pft.

We're worms, ok? Plain and simple. But with Christ, we have the potential and promise to rise above our "worminess." That's where it gets good.

Anyway, my self-examination doesn't yield any suprises because I don't look at myself as "all that." (See, I'm hip. HAHAHAHAH....)

A good exercise is to look at each verse in this passage (after the initial proclamation that "nothing we do can improve on God") and ask God if this is us?

"An empty-head thinks mischief is fun, but a mindful person relishes wisdom."

God, which one am I?

"The nightmares of the wicked come true; what the good people desire, they get."

God, which one am I?

"When the storm is over, there's nothing left of the wicked; good people, firm on their rock foundation, aren't even fazed."

God, am I on your Rock?

"A lazy employee will give you nothing but trouble; it's vinegar in the mouth, smoke in the eyes."

God, is this me??

"The Fear-of-God expands your life; a wicked life is a puny life."

Which one do I have?

"The aspirations of good people end in celebration; the ambitions of bad people crash."

To which end am I headed?

"God is solid backing to a well-lived life, but he calls into question a shabby performance."

Is my life well-lived?

"Good people last--they can't be moved; the wicked are here to day, gone tomorrow."

Which one am I?

"A good person's mouth is a clear fountain of wisdom; a foul mouth is a stagnant swamp."

How's my mouth, God?

"The speech of a good person clears the air; the words of the wicked pollute it."

How are my words, Lord?

What do I need to change? What can I celebrate? I'll be pondering these questions tonight...

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com