Worth Far More Than Money
2008-02-29

I've decided to go ahead and upgrade this diary's account to Supergold. So I now have comments on this diary, too. I plan to put up some banners soon. So maybe a banner will lead somewhere besides "light falls up." Geez! Every banner I click on these days goes to that diary. Anyway...there it is.

I still feel bad. Ugh. Think I've got the crud. In college, we called it the "Commerce Crud," after the town the colleg was in. Now, it's just basically "creeping crud." Ugh. Runny nose, creeping to the chest area, no fever, just ugh.



So it's leap day. Yeah.

Psalms for today: 29, 59, 89, 119...nope not this month...149

I will sing of your strength;
I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning.
For you have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress.
O my Strength, I will sing praises to you,
for you, O God, are my fortress,
the God who shows me steadfast love.--Psalm 59:16-17



Day 99

Proverbs 2:2-5

Tune your ears to the world of Wisdom;
set your heart on a life of Understanding.
That's right--if you make Insight your priority, and won't take no for an answer,
Searching for it like a prospector panning for gold, like an adventurer on a treasure hunt,
Believe me, before you know it Fear-of-God will be yours;
you'll have come upon the Knowledge of God.

The writer of proberbs sees wisdom as something worth chasing after. Our society seems to think that wisdom just kind of comes naturally to you once you hit a certain age, but this is a very passive approach. This writer feels differently about it. He believes it is worth pursuing with great time and energy. In fact, later in chapter 3, he says it is "better than a big salary." Heh. Our world would certainly disagree with that!!

What is wisdom? What does it look like to chase after it with all your might? I haven't discovered that yet. But I do believe that wisdom is, indeed, "better than a big salary."

Here is how Proverbs describes a good start to wisdom and knowledge in 1:7..."The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction."

We live in a world full of "fools," based on this definiation.

Father, I ask you for wisdom. I ask you to show me how to chase it. Show me how to value wisdom, even to personify it (her) as the writer of Proverbs has done. Certainly, she may be found by spending more time in your Word.

Give me a spirit of discernment as I go about my activities for the rest of today and tomorrow.

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com