God Encounters
2008-02-28

I thig I gotta code id by dose. Ugh.


I'm really excited...I got my first issue of "Tabletalk" today. It's a daily devotional magazine published by R.C. Sproul, a marvelous theologian/philopher whom I respect greatly. Just in time for March, too. Looks like the readings for March are in Matthew. They typically go through a whole book at a time.


Psalms for today: 28, 58, 88, 118, 148

[Whoa...Barak Obama just called ME!! Ok, it was a recording, but still...Hehehe]

It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in man.
It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in princes.--Psalm 118:8-9



Day 98

Man, the seventh day sure seems to roll around quickly...

It's review day, so I'll go back and look at how God has spoken to me in the past six days.

Day 92--The Gift of Scripture

In Psalm 119, the psalmist extols the virtue of God's word for 176 verses. One time, just for kicks I examined Psalm 119 closely and found that all but 2 of the verses mention God's Word in one form or another. Various words are used, like word, precepts, commands, laws, etc.

The key, I think, here is that God's word is permanent. No matter what happens, God's Word will endure. The flowers and grass will fade and wither, but the Word of the Lord remains forever. Even Jesus said that not one stroke of God's word will pass away.

Day 93--Confidence in God

I had some fun with Psalm 121 in this one. And I think it was appreciated by some, as well. In the devotional book, blanks were inserted in key spots in Psalm 121. In my diary, I inserted names of my "buddies" in those blanks. Because I think we all need to be reminded of God's care for us. And each of my "buddies," as well as myself, all have our own sets of issues that we deal with every day. We need to remember that our God never sleeps, never slumbers. We look to him for our strength each day. We don't look to the mountains, we look to the maker of the mountains!

Day 94--My Soul Is A Baby Content

This psalm was absolutely stunning in The Message. Psalm 131. I was given a visual image of myself resting in the arms of God, being cradled like a child. I don't care how mature you are, or even how "manly" you might think you are. We all need to know how God cares for us. "Like a baby content in its mothers arms, my soul is a baby content."

Beautiful. Just beautiful.

Day 95--Chewing On the Cud

Psalm 139, one of my favorites. But the point of the day was meditation. We consider that we are an open book to God and that he knows everything about us, what we will say before we say it, where we will go before we even stand up to move. How do we feel about that? The psalmist's reaction was that it was "too much, too wonderful; I can't take it in!"

We should meditate every day on how well our Father know us. Especially in comparison to how little we know about him...

Day 96--No One Is Left Out

Psalm 145. Again, I was stunned by God's revelation in this psalm that he is good to all of his creation. Even to those who do not ever acknowledge his goodness.

God provides life and breath to all creation. Every day. The phrase that stuck with me most was "Everything he does is suffused with grace." If we could only be more aware of the atmosphere of God's grace surrounding us...well, I know I would certainly treat people with more grace every day. And that's what I'm working towards.

Day 97--Praise Him, Sun and Moon

Psalm 148. All creation praises the Maker. I recall the image I had of all creation involved in a gigantic worship service all over the planet. And God smiling down on it, and possibly giving out a good-hearted laugh as his children of all kinds praise his name.

I kind of went off on a tangent, but it was from the heart...emotions and such that I have experienced, especially on Sundy mornings when I'm trying to get ready to lead in the most important even in the life of our church, our Sunday morning corporate worship time. It's amazing how much stuff the enemy throws at us in the hours preceding that time.

But God is honored by the worship of his creation.

That's it for this one. Tomorrow, I bid adieu to the Psalms and start into Proverbs. Well, I'll still read my five Psalms for the day, but as for the devotional book..moving right along.

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com