My Soul Is A Baby Content
2008-02-24

Here we are at Sunday morning again. The house is full of people, as Rachel and boyfriend are here for the weekend. Stephanie is PMS-ing. Good times.


Psalms for the day: 24, 54, 84, 114, 144

O God, save me, by your name, and vindicate me by your might.
O God, hear my prayer;
give ear to the words of my mouth.

For strangers have risen against me;
ruthless men seek my life;
they do not set God before themselves.

Behold, God is my helper;
the Lord is the upholder of my life.
He will return the evil to my enemies;
in your faithfulness put an end to them.--Psalm 54:1-5


Interesting how David shifts from speaking of God as "he" to speaking directly to him in verse 5. Then he shifts back in verse 7. I wonder what's up with that?


Day 94

Psalm 131

Like a baby content in its mother's arms, my soul is a baby content.

WOW! What a picture!

There's a lot in this psalm that resonates in me. I'm going to express this to our Father in a prayer.

God, the words of this psalm are very true to me. "I'm not trying to rule the roost. I don't want to be king of the mountain." That's me. I don't want to be in charge. That's your job. And furthermore, there are men/women that you have designated for those positions on earth. I am not one of them. I have my place and I am content with it.

I don't have any "fantasized grandiose" plans. Maybe there are some grandiose fantasies, but no real plans. I'm not like Pinky and the Brain, trying to take over the world every night. I don't want to meddle where I have no business. That's hard for most humans, isn't it?

I like keeping my feet on the "ground," figuratively speaking. Actually, I like keeping my feet on the ground literally, but that's a different topic. I'm "cultivating a quiet heart." Let my heart be quiet within me, rather than striving against whatever comes along.

And, God, this verse..."Like a baby content in its mother's arms, my soul is a baby content." That verse flows through me like a warm cup of coffee on a freezing morning. It just absolutely thrills me. The image that comes into my head upon reading this is that of me in your arms, being held like a baby. It brings tears of joy to my eyes. It warms my soul. It's where I need to be all the time, 24/7. Let my soul be a baby, content, all the time.

I will wait for you. I will wait with hope. I will hope now, I will hope always.



I like the final instruction in today's devotion so much I'm going to quote it in full.

Spend time in silence. Imagine your soul as "a baby content in its mother's arms." Even if you find your thoughts continuously running, practice silence. Achieving silence doesn't mean you have to focus on stopping your thoughts. Just let them pass through, then bring your mind back to the image of resting. Just enjoy being in the presence of God.

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com