Spiritual History Lessons
2008-02-20

I just got this series of text messages from my friend Phillip. First he told me to read Matthew 13:24-30 and 38-40. So I looked it up. It's the parable about the weeds. I think in KJV, it's called the wheat and the tares. Anyway, so I read it, and I'm thinking...what does this mean?

Is he saying I'm a weed? That would be bad...so I texted him back, and he replied back with 1 Timothy 4:11-16. This is where Paul admonishes Timothy to not allow anyone to despise his youth, but to keep studying and teaching.

Ok. Then he sends me another one that says, "You're still young and God wants to use your youth."

Hahaha....ok. I love this guy. And you know, maybe he's right. I tend to think of myself as old, but if I live out my life expectancy, I'm barely more than half my life old. So, yeah...I'm still young.



Psalms for today: 20, 50, 80, 110, 140

From Psalm 50

1 The Mighty One, God the LORD,
speaks and summons the earth from the rising of the sun to its setting.
2 Out of Zion, the perfection of beauty,
God shines forth.

I love verse 2 of this psalm. "...the perfection of beauty, God shines forth." Yes.


Day 90

Psalm 106

As I read this psalm, I am drawn to the verse that says, "He saved them from a life of oppression, pried them loose from the grip of the enemy."

This really makes me feel that God is "for me." As in, "If God is for me, who can be against me." The enemy's grip is not stronger than my God's grip. And this enemy can be anything. It can be sin, it can be struggles that we go through, whatever. Our enemy takes many forms. Regardless, God's grip and pull is stronger.

I'm sorry this is kind of short...I have to go with the family to eat.

Grace and peace for today...



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com