I'll Worship You Undivided
2008-02-17

I'm in a bit of a funk this morning. Hopefully this time in the Word will get me out of it. It's kind of hard leading worship in a state of mind like this. I'll explain more later on my other diary if I can come up with a way to express it properly.


Psalms for today: 17, 47, 77, 107, 137

From Psalm 47...

1 Clap your hands, all peoples!
Shout to God with loud songs of joy!
2 For the LORD, the Most High, is to be feared,
a great king over all the earth.

6 Sing praises to God, sing praises!
Sing praises to our King, sing praises!
7 For God is the King of all the earth;
sing praises with a psalm!




Day 87

Psalm 86

This Psalm contains the verse that I chose many years ago as my "life verse." This is a verse that I chose that would be my prayer to God for my life. It's verse 11, which is rendered thusly in The Message:

Train me, GOD, to walk straight;
then I'll follow your true path.
Put me together, one heart and mind;
then, undivided, I'll worship in joyful fear.

That's a pretty good translation. The main point is the prayer for God to unite my heart and mind to serve or follow him with an undivided heart.

I just read this psalm out loud, standing up. When I got to verse 14, which begins, "God, these bullies have reared their heads," I went down on my knees to finish the psalm. It was actually quite invigorating to read it this way. At first I didn't want to do this, making excuese such as, "I don't have time for this," or "I just don't feel like doing this, it's silly." But I'm glad I went ahead and did it. Posture can be very important when we are praying, and reading a psalm aloud is certainly a form of praying.

I think the position my body was in highlighted the words of the passage. For example, while on my knees, I finished the passage, which concludes like this:

Make a show of how much you love me
so the bullies who hate me will stand there slack-jawed,
As you, GOD, gently and powerfully
put me back on my feet.

Plus, if God is going to "look me in the eye," as stated in 14-17, if I'm on my knees, guess what that means. He has to get down there with me, doesn't he? You can't very well look someone in the eye when they are kneeling unless you kneel with them.

Ok, I know...we run some risks when we "anthropomorphize" God too much. But still, I think that we can believe that he is willing to reach down to our level to minister to us. After all, he did step down from heaven to be born in a feeding trough in an outdoor stable. Not exactly the most "kingly" of conditions.

Anyway, I encourage you to experiment with postures as you read/pray Scriptures. You might be surprised at the revelations you receive.

Grace and peace for today.



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com