Can't Get Enough
2008-02-15

Psalms for today: 15, 45, 75, 105, 135

From Psalm 75...

1 We give thanks to you, O God;
we give thanks, for your name is newar.
We recount your wondrous deeds.

Another verse on the theme of remembering and telling about the awesome works of our God. We should always be telling our children, "I remember when God did this..."


Day 85

Psalm 63

This is one of my favorite Psalms.

God--You're my God!
I can't get enough of you!
I've worked up such hunger and thirst for God,
traveling across dry and weary deserts.

So here I am in the place of worship, eyes open,
drinking in your strength and glory.
In your generous love I am really living at last!
My lips brim praises like fountains.
I bless you every time I take a breath;
My arms wave like banners of praise to you.

I eat my fill of prime rib and gravy;
I smack my lips. It's time to shout praises!
If I'm sleepless at midnight,
I spend the hours in grateful reflection.
Because you've always stood up for me,
I'm free to run and play.
I hold on to you for dear life,
and you hold me steady as a post.

God, you truly are my God, and as each day passes, I find that my desire for you is growing. Perhaps I am not yet at the place that this psalmist is at, but I am getting there. I hunger and thirst for you trememendously, and the appeal that the world holds for me is diminishing! Thanks to you!

I love to be in your house of worship each week, especially as one who has the privilege (and awesome responsibility) of leading your people in their praise of you! Let my lips truly brim praises like fountains, as this psalmist has written. Let my very breath be full of praise for you. Hah! What a glorious image...to "breathe" praise!

Let me fill up on "prime rib and gravy," instead of "beans and grease." Let me run and play in the paths of your commands. And, as I hold on to you, keep me steady. Keep my feet on that solid rock that was written about a couple days ago.

A phrase that describes my present state: "Hunger and thirst for God."

A phrase that describes how I would like to be: "I bless you every time I take a breath."

Finally, a quote from The Cloud of Unknowing:

Nourish in your heart a lively longing for God.

Nourish in your heart a lively longing for God.

Grace and peace!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com