Rescued From the Pit
2008-02-08

We just got back from a hospital visit a little while ago. It was kind of depressing. My wife's step-father is in the hospital with kidney failure. He has to start having dialysis tomorrow. My mother-in-law has pretty much lost her mind. She makes less and less sense all the time.


Psalms for today: 8, 38, 68, 98, 128

But for you, O LORD, do I wait;
it is you, O Lord my God, who will answer.--Psalm 38:15



Day 78

Psalms 28 and 30

I try to place myself in the "black hole" that the psalmist describes in verse 1. It's dark and totally silent, except for, perhaps, the slow drip of water from somewhere. I cry out to God, and for a time, he doesn't answer, I still here only...drip...drip...drip. I can see sunlight far above me, but cannot reach it on my own. The sad thing is, I've dug this black hole myself. I trust God, though, and will not for a minute believe that he has forsaken me. I will keep crying out until something happens.

Suddenly, the arms of God reach down and lift me up into the Light. It's so bright I have to squint and blink for a minute. I rest in his presence for a time, expressing my gratitude to him for, once again, rescuing me from a pit.

What is most powerful for me in these verses is verse 6. "Blessed be God--he heard me praying." What more powerful knowledge could there be than to know that God has heard your prayer? That alone is enough to cause one to jump for joy and shout and sing. We should all try that more often. The jumping, shouting and singing.

Grace and peace!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com