Staying With God
2008-02-06

Still fighting this darned cellulitis. Ugh. I don't feel so good right now. Advil will kick in soon, I hope.


Psalms for today: 6, 36, 66, 96, 126

Your steadfast love, O LORD, extends to the heavens,
your faithfulness to the clouds.
Your righteousness is like the mountains of God;
your judgments are like the great deep;
man and beast you save, O LORD.--Psalm 36:5-6

Sound familiar? If not, check out a song by Third Day called "Your Love, O Lord." It's a great worship song that I use frequently.


Day 76

Psalm 27

The Psalmist desires to spend time in the house of God, sitting at his feet. Actually, he wants to live there, contemplating God's beauty.
I like the words..."That's the only quiet, secure place in a noisy world, the perfect getaway, far from the buzz of traffic."

This is, incidentally, the psalm that begins with the well-known words, "The LORD is my light and my salvation, whom then shall I fear?"

I've spoken to God in the same way, as well. I've never had anyone trying to kill me (at least, not that I know of), but I have had wicked people involved in things that tempt me, and threaten to destroy my faith and my very life.

In verse one of the same psalm, David says, "With him on my side I'm fearless, afraid of no one and nothing." Can I honestly say that? Is my faith that strong?

It needs to be. And, I'll admit that I don't fear a lot of the things that other people fear. I don't fear death, I really don't fear losing my stuff. Because it's just that..."stuff."

At the end of this psalm, David declares, "I'm sure now I'll see God's goodness in the exuberant earth. Stay with GOD! Take heart. Don't quit. I'll say it again: Stay with GOD."

The only times I have been tempted to quit on God are when I've become so deeply entrenched in my sin that I think I can't get out. That's not God's fault, is it? And he is always faithful. The thing that keeps me from running is the very fact that he has his hands on me. He is not going to let me go, no matter what. I'm living proof of that, because if I were him, I would have let me go a long time ago! But he hangs on to me, which keeps me hanging on to him.

Brothers and sisters, I hang on to God for dear life. As though one who completely desperate and would be otherwise hopeless.

He has promised that he will never let me go.

David also asks, "Point me down your highway, GOD; direct me along a well-lighted street."

Father, guide me down your highway. I have in my mind a picture of the highway that I drive on every night to go to work. In some places it's not very well lit. But your highway is brilliant with life. Help me stay on it, and help me live the life you want me to live.

Stay with God!

Grace and peace!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com