God, Brilliant Lord
2008-02-04

Not feeling well today. Came down with cellulitis in my left leg again yesterday. Ugh.


Psalms for today: 4, 34, 64, 94, 124
Answer me when I call, O God of my righteousness!
You have given me relief when I was in distress.
Be gracious to me and hear my prayer!



Day 74

Psalm 8

I look up at your macro-skies, dark and enormous,
your handmade sky-jewelry,
Moon and stars mounted in their settings,
Then I look at my micro-self and wonder,
Why do you bother with us?
Why take a second look our way?

Those two verses, 3 and 4, caught my attention, especially comparing my "micro-self" to God's "macro-skies." I think it's very healthy to keep perspective of how tiny we are. In the grand scheme of things, we are pretty small. Obviously, we are important to God, but we are still very small in comparison.

I echo the sentiment of the psalmist here. "Why do you bother with us?" I'm in awe of the fact that this great God, this infitely huge God, has any interest in me. It doesn't puff up my ego at all. It makes me shake my head in wonder. It makes me praise him all the more.

"God, brilliant Lord!"

O, Lord, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth!

Grace and peace, y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com