Creation Movie
2008-02-01

It's a new month, so I'm back to Psalm 1. Psalms for today: 1, 31, 61, 91, 121
In you, O LORD, do I take refuge;
let me never be put to shame;
in your righteousness deliver me!
Incline your ear to me; rescue me speedily!
Be a rock of refuge for me,
a strong fortress to save me!--Psalm 31:1-2

I love all the Psalms that speak of God being a fortress! A strong tower for us to hide in. That's our God!


Day 71

read

Job 38:4-11,24-27

God questions Job. It's God's turn to speak.

Where were you when I created the earth?
Tell me since you know so much! Emphasis mine

think

What is your favorite moment in this creation story?

I like where God speaks of "deserts no one ever lays eyes on." There are parts of the ocean, places that no human will ever see. There are, doubtless, creatures that only God will ever lay "eyes" on.

Are you more fascinated by God as a blueprints-and-measurements kind of being or as a tamer of ocean tantrums?

I think it would have to be as a tamer of the oceans. The majestic power that is visible in nature is all tamed and controlled by God.

How do you respond to God as a lightning launcher or canyon carver?

First, with great awe. Then with fear and respect. I must bow to this God who holds the furies in his hand. He is not to be trifled with.

For what part of God's creation would you have wanted a front-row seat?

Wow. That's tough. I think for the filling of the oceans. I think that would have been magnificent.

pray

I give response to God, telling him my answers to these questions. I will meditate on what his response might be to me.

live

Next time I go for a walk or hike, I will take special note of the beauty and detail of the nature around me. I will talk to God about it, and how marvelous his creation is.

"Stop and smell the roses," y'all!



0 comments so far

hosted by DiaryLand.com